massoutage

Power Outages in Tuscola County, MI

Is there a power outage in Tuscola County, MI right now? None reported. As of October 19, 2026 17:00 UTC, no outages are reported by Thumb Electric Coop of Mich in Tuscola County, MI. Consumers Energy Co - (MI) has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. DTE Electric Company publishes only a system-wide total, not county figures.

Tuscola County, MI is served by 3 tracked utilities. In 2025, the average customer here lost power for about 8.3 hours.

Cite this data
URL
https://massoutage.com/michigan/tuscola-county
As of
October 19, 2026 17:00 UTC
Publisher
MassOutage

MassOutage, "Power Outages in Tuscola County, MI", live data as of October 19, 2026 17:00 UTC. https://massoutage.com/michigan/tuscola-county

Alert me
Tuscola County, MI
Loading map…
This county Loading live outagesout
No outages reported

No active outages are reported by Thumb Electric Coop of Mich in Tuscola County.

Consumers Energy Co - (MI) only appearsin feeds while reporting outages, so no report isn't a confirmed all-clear.

DTE Electric Company publishes no county-level figures.

Report an outage in Tuscola County, MI

Report it to your electric utility; MassOutage can't take reports. For a downed line, stay at least 35 feet away and call 911.

No outage contact on file for Consumers Energy Co - (MI), DTE Electric Company and Thumb Electric Coop of Mich; check your electric bill or the utility's website.

Not sure which utility serves you? →

Live status by utility · Tuscola County

11%of this county's ~53,310 customers are served by utilities with a county-level live feed.

Blind spots

Only visible while reporting outages: Consumers Energy Co - (MI). Zero here is not a confirmed all-clear.

System-wide total only, no county split: DTE Electric Company.

UtilityFeedOutServed% outSmall outagesIncidentsUtility ETRAs of
Thumb Electric Coop of MichLive · county05,7650.0%---
Consumers Energy Co - (MI)Outages onlynone reported------
DTE Electric CompanyLive · total onlynot by county------

Thumb Electric Coop of Mich reportsevery town in the county on each poll, so 0 out is a real all-clear. ETRs are the utility's own estimates.

Electricity-dependent residents

HHS emPOWER · data October 7, 2026

Medicare beneficiaries in Tuscola Countywho rely on electricity-dependent medical equipment (ventilators, oxygen concentrators, home dialysis, powered wheelchairs, and more). HHS reports counts of 1–10 as “≤11”. Medicare only, so the full at-risk population is larger.

Power-dependent
890
Oxygen service
250
Dialysis (facility)
111
Home health / hospice
246
By ZIP code (14)
ZIPPower-dependentVentilatorsO2 concentratorsHome dialysis
4872324214179≤11
48768145≤11108≤11
48746114≤1174≤11
4872688≤1172≤11
4874476≤1163≤11
4875744≤11290
4843531≤11200
4874129≤1126≤11
4876025≤1120≤11
4873324≤11140
4872923≤11190
4876722≤11180
4870119≤11130
48735140≤110

Emergency managers can request identified beneficiary lists through their state health department via the HHS emPOWER program.

🔔 Alerts for Tuscola County, MI

Outage began, grew, restoration estimate changed, restored: by email, Slack, Teams, Discord or signed webhook, for Tuscola County or any town and utility in it.

◢ ACTIVE WEATHER ALERTS · NWS

No active NWS alerts for Tuscola County right now.

Recent NWS alert activity · Tuscola County

Tuscola County has been under 2 National Weather Service alerts recently, most recently a Freeze Warning on October 17, 2026.

  • Freeze Warning ×1
  • Special Weather Statement ×1
Outage trend · Tuscola County, MI
0customers out · peak 218
Data as of Oct 19, 2026 17:00 UTC
Tuscola County, MI: customers without power, last 24 hoursPeak 218 customers out; latest 0 as of Oct 19, 2026 17:00 UTC. Each point is the highest reading in its interval.01002003006 PMOct 196 AM12 PM
Use the arrow keys to read values.
Times in EDT. Shaded stretches had no reading.

Hardest-hit cities in Tuscola County

Where this event is concentrated across the county's towns and townships.

No cities on file for this county

Historical reliability

In 2025, the average customer in Tuscola County went about 8.3 hours without power. Peak simultaneous outage on record reached 16,639 customers.

Official state benchmark (EIA 2025)Source: US EIA

The US EIA reports Michigan utilities averaged 10.1 hrs without power per customer (SAIDI) in 2025, a cross-check on our county estimate of 8.3 hrs.

A decade of outages (2015–2025)
avg hrs without power / customer
Tuscola County average outage hours per customer by year2015–2025: 2015 17.0h, 2016 1.0h, 2017 19.4h, 2018 21.7h, 2019 15.0h, 2020 23.7h, 2021 32.1h, 2022 13.6h, 2023 6.3h, 2024 7.6h, 2025 8.3h. Highlighted: 2021.01020304017.0h20151.0h201619.4h201721.7h201815.0h201923.7h202032.1h202113.6h20226.3h20237.6h20248.3h2025
Use the arrow keys to read values.

Worst year here was 2021 (peak 6,138 customers out) · decade average 15.1 hrs without power per customer/yr.

YearOutage eventsPeak customers outAvg hrs/customer
20153675,19017.0
2016547951.0
20173844,55819.4
20184786,71521.7
20194153,17515.0
202038616,63923.7
20214596,13832.1
20224375,87113.6
20233072,2936.3
20243292,7747.6
20253351,8278.3

Cost of power in Tuscola County

ENERGY & AI DEMAND →

Estimated residential electricity price for Tuscola County, customer-weighted across the utilities serving it (US EIA, 2025). Retail prices aren't published at the county level; this is a derived estimate.

20.4¢/kWh
estimated residential average
▲ 40% since 2015
vs Michigan avg 23.1¢
vs US avg 20.0¢
BY UTILITY · RESIDENTIAL ¢/kWh

Weighted by each utility's residential customer count (utilities report customers at the state level; a per-county share isn't published). Rising retail prices track a national demand surge; see energy & the data-center boom. What that adds up to each month, by state and utility: average electric bill.

Worst recorded outages
STARTEDPEAK OUTDURATION
June 10, 202016,6393d 7h
January 11, 20209,6914d
May 4, 20186,7156d 13h
December 11, 20216,1386d 7h
June 15, 20225,8714d 8h
See the biggest power outages in US history →
Natural hazards & outage risk
HIGH

Relatively High high winds exposure · 15.1 hrs/yr of outages over the last decade.

Strong windRelatively High
TornadoRelatively Moderate
Ice stormRelatively Moderate
FloodingRelatively Moderate

FEMA rates this county’s social vulnerability relatively moderate: outages hit harder where communities are less able to respond and recover.

All hazard rankings →

Power outages in Tuscola County: FAQ

How often does Tuscola County, MI lose power?
Based on EAGLE-I records, Tuscola County, MI logged 335 distinct outage events in 2025, averaging about 8.3 hours without power per customer over the year.
What was the worst power outage in Tuscola County, MI?
The largest tracked outage peaked at 16,639 customers without power, beginning June 10, 2020 and lasting about 3d 7h.
Is there a power outage in Tuscola County, MI right now?
None reported. As of October 19, 2026 17:00 UTC, no outages are reported by Thumb Electric Coop of Mich in Tuscola County, MI. Consumers Energy Co - (MI) has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. DTE Electric Company publishes only a system-wide total, not county figures.
Which utilities serve Tuscola County, MI?
Tracked electric providers include Consumers Energy Co - (MI), Thumb Electric Coop of Mich.
ZIP codes in Tuscola County

Outages are tracked at the county level; these ZIP codes fall within Tuscola County.

48435, 48701, 48723, 48726, 48729, 48733, 48735, 48741, 48744, 48746, 48757, 48767, 48768

Electric providers serving this county

From EIA-861 service territory, with official reliability where reported. Territory is filed by county, so these are the utilities with lines anywhere in Tuscola County, not the one at a given address. All electric companies in Michigan →

ProviderOfficial SAIDI (EIA)LiveReport outage
Consumers Energy Co - (MI)13.7 hrsOutages only-
DTE Electric Company3.2 hrsLive · total only-
Thumb Electric Coop of Mich-Live · county-

Data from DOE/ORNL ODIN, DOE EAGLE-I, EIA Form 861 (utility reliability), EIA electricity retail prices and FEMA National Risk Index, every source we read. Historical figures derive from the DOE/ORNL EAGLE-I dataset (EAGLE-I tracked roughly 0% of Michigan customers). Machine-readable data: /api/v1/counties/26157 and /api/v1/counties/26157/history.