Power Outages in Genesee County, MI
Is there a power outage in Genesee County, MI right now? None reported. Consumers Energy Co - (MI) has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. DTE Electric Company publishes only a system-wide total, not county figures.
Genesee County, MI is served by 2 tracked utilities. In 2025, the average customer here lost power for about 7.1 hours.
Cite this data
- URL
- https://massoutage.com/michigan/genesee-county
- As of
- Not available
- Publisher
- MassOutage
MassOutage, "Power Outages in Genesee County, MI". https://massoutage.com/michigan/genesee-county
Consumers Energy Co - (MI) only appearsin feeds while reporting outages, so no report isn't a confirmed all-clear.
DTE Electric Company publishes no county-level figures.
Report an outage in Genesee County, MI
Report it to your electric utility; MassOutage can't take reports. For a downed line, stay at least 35 feet away and call 911.
No outage contact on file for Consumers Energy Co - (MI) and DTE Electric Company; check your electric bill or the utility's website.
0.0%of this county's ~207,832 customers are served by utilities with a county-level live feed.
Only visible while reporting outages: Consumers Energy Co - (MI). Zero here is not a confirmed all-clear.
System-wide total only, no county split: DTE Electric Company.
| Utility | Feed | Out | Served | % out | Small outages | Incidents | Utility ETR | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Consumers Energy Co - (MI) | Outages only | none reported | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| DTE Electric Company | Live · total only | not by county | - | - | - | - | - | - |
Electricity-dependent residents
HHS emPOWER · data October 7, 2026Medicare beneficiaries in Genesee Countywho rely on electricity-dependent medical equipment (ventilators, oxygen concentrators, home dialysis, powered wheelchairs, and more). HHS reports counts of 1–10 as “≤11”. Medicare only, so the full at-risk population is larger.
By ZIP code (22)
| ZIP | Power-dependent | Ventilators | O2 concentrators | Home dialysis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 48439 | 495 | 18 | 283 | ≤11 |
| 48423 | 403 | 12 | 250 | ≤11 |
| 48507 | 384 | 13 | 265 | ≤11 |
| 48420 | 374 | 13 | 242 | ≤11 |
| 48506 | 332 | 13 | 248 | ≤11 |
| 48433 | 316 | ≤11 | 198 | ≤11 |
| 48458 | 298 | ≤11 | 204 | ≤11 |
| 48473 | 287 | ≤11 | 172 | ≤11 |
| 48532 | 283 | 17 | 188 | ≤11 |
| 48504 | 268 | ≤11 | 159 | ≤11 |
| 48503 | 263 | ≤11 | 151 | ≤11 |
| 48505 | 189 | ≤11 | 119 | ≤11 |
| 48451 | 165 | ≤11 | 103 | ≤11 |
| 48509 | 153 | ≤11 | 105 | ≤11 |
| 48529 | 135 | ≤11 | 100 | ≤11 |
| 48457 | 129 | ≤11 | 95 | ≤11 |
| 48519 | 126 | ≤11 | 85 | ≤11 |
| 48463 | 79 | ≤11 | 54 | ≤11 |
| 48438 | 65 | 0 | 37 | ≤11 |
| 48436 | 35 | ≤11 | 24 | 0 |
| 48502 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 48437 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
Emergency managers can request identified beneficiary lists through their state health department via the HHS emPOWER program.
Outage began, grew, restoration estimate changed, restored: by email, Slack, Teams, Discord or signed webhook, for Genesee County or any town and utility in it.
No active NWS alerts for Genesee County right now.
Genesee County has been under 3 National Weather Service alerts recently, most recently a Freeze Warning on October 17, 2026.
- Special Weather Statement ×2
- Freeze Warning ×1
Hardest-hit cities in Genesee County
Where this event is concentrated across the county's towns and townships.
- Flintno outage reported
Historical reliability
In 2025, the average customer in Genesee County went about 7.1 hours without power. Peak simultaneous outage on record reached 26,420 customers.
The US EIA reports Michigan utilities averaged 10.1 hrs without power per customer (SAIDI) in 2025, a cross-check on our county estimate of 7.1 hrs.
Worst year here was 2021 (peak 26,420 customers out) · decade average 4.9 hrs without power per customer/yr.
| Year | Outage events | Peak customers out | Avg hrs/customer |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | 893 | 11,649 | 2.7 |
| 2016 | 847 | 13,163 | 2.7 |
| 2017 | 604 | 19,779 | 4.4 |
| 2018 | 622 | 21,099 | 4.3 |
| 2019 | 508 | 15,506 | 5.4 |
| 2020 | 740 | 11,114 | 4.0 |
| 2021 | 560 | 26,420 | 9.0 |
| 2022 | 435 | 12,006 | 4.9 |
| 2023 | 686 | 11,091 | 4.7 |
| 2024 | 728 | 20,710 | 4.6 |
| 2025 | 667 | 24,417 | 7.1 |
Cost of power in Genesee County
ENERGY & AI DEMAND →Estimated residential electricity price for Genesee County, customer-weighted across the utilities serving it (US EIA, 2025). Retail prices aren't published at the county level; this is a derived estimate.
- DTE Electric Company20.2¢2,078,315 cust
- Consumers Energy Co - (MI)20.7¢1,662,741 cust
Weighted by each utility's residential customer count (utilities report customers at the state level; a per-county share isn't published). Rising retail prices track a national demand surge; see energy & the data-center boom. What that adds up to each month, by state and utility: average electric bill.
Relatively High ice storms exposure · 4.9 hrs/yr of outages over the last decade.
FEMA rates this county’s social vulnerability relatively moderate: outages hit harder where communities are less able to respond and recover.
All hazard rankings →Power outages in Genesee County: FAQ
- How often does Genesee County, MI lose power?
- Based on EAGLE-I records, Genesee County, MI logged 667 distinct outage events in 2025, averaging about 7.1 hours without power per customer over the year.
- What was the worst power outage in Genesee County, MI?
- The largest tracked outage peaked at 26,420 customers without power, beginning August 12, 2021 and lasting about 6d 17h.
- Is there a power outage in Genesee County, MI right now?
- None reported. Consumers Energy Co - (MI) has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. DTE Electric Company publishes only a system-wide total, not county figures.
- Which utilities serve Genesee County, MI?
- Tracked electric providers include Consumers Energy Co - (MI).
Flint. Outage counts for these communities are reported at the Genesee County level shown above.
Outages are tracked at the county level; these ZIP codes fall within Genesee County.
48411, 48420, 48423, 48433, 48436, 48437, 48438, 48439, 48451, 48457, 48458, 48463, 48473, 48502, 48503, 48504, 48505, 48506, 48507, 48509, 48519, 48529, 48532
Electric providers serving this county
From EIA-861 service territory, with official reliability where reported. Territory is filed by county, so these are the utilities with lines anywhere in Genesee County, not the one at a given address. All electric companies in Michigan →
| Provider | Official SAIDI (EIA) | Live | Report outage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Consumers Energy Co - (MI) | 13.7 hrs | Outages only | - |
| DTE Electric Company | 3.2 hrs | Live · total only | - |
Data from DOE/ORNL ODIN, DOE EAGLE-I, EIA Form 861 (utility reliability), EIA electricity retail prices and FEMA National Risk Index, every source we read. Historical figures derive from the DOE/ORNL EAGLE-I dataset (EAGLE-I tracked roughly 0% of Michigan customers). Machine-readable data: /api/v1/counties/26049 and /api/v1/counties/26049/history.