Power Outages in Lapeer County, MI
Is there a power outage in Lapeer County, MI right now? None reported. Consumers Energy Co - (MI) has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. DTE Electric Company publishes only a system-wide total, not county figures.
Lapeer County, MI is served by 2 tracked utilities. In 2025, the average customer here lost power for about 6.6 hours.
Cite this data
- URL
- https://massoutage.com/michigan/lapeer-county
- As of
- Not available
- Publisher
- MassOutage
MassOutage, "Power Outages in Lapeer County, MI". https://massoutage.com/michigan/lapeer-county
Consumers Energy Co - (MI) only appearsin feeds while reporting outages, so no report isn't a confirmed all-clear.
DTE Electric Company publishes no county-level figures.
Report an outage in Lapeer County, MI
Report it to your electric utility; MassOutage can't take reports. For a downed line, stay at least 35 feet away and call 911.
No outage contact on file for Consumers Energy Co - (MI) and DTE Electric Company; check your electric bill or the utility's website.
0.0%of this county's ~41,234 customers are served by utilities with a county-level live feed.
Only visible while reporting outages: Consumers Energy Co - (MI). Zero here is not a confirmed all-clear.
System-wide total only, no county split: DTE Electric Company.
| Utility | Feed | Out | Served | % out | Small outages | Incidents | Utility ETR | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Consumers Energy Co - (MI) | Outages only | none reported | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| DTE Electric Company | Live · total only | not by county | - | - | - | - | - | - |
Electricity-dependent residents
HHS emPOWER · data October 7, 2026Medicare beneficiaries in Lapeer Countywho rely on electricity-dependent medical equipment (ventilators, oxygen concentrators, home dialysis, powered wheelchairs, and more). HHS reports counts of 1–10 as “≤11”. Medicare only, so the full at-risk population is larger.
By ZIP code (10)
| ZIP | Power-dependent | Ventilators | O2 concentrators | Home dialysis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 48446 | 458 | ≤11 | 332 | ≤11 |
| 48461 | 105 | ≤11 | 72 | ≤11 |
| 48444 | 99 | ≤11 | 75 | ≤11 |
| 48421 | 98 | ≤11 | 64 | ≤11 |
| 48455 | 90 | ≤11 | 54 | ≤11 |
| 48412 | 78 | ≤11 | 61 | ≤11 |
| 48003 | 56 | ≤11 | 34 | ≤11 |
| 48428 | 52 | ≤11 | 24 | 0 |
| 48464 | 35 | ≤11 | 25 | ≤11 |
| 48727 | 20 | ≤11 | 13 | 0 |
Emergency managers can request identified beneficiary lists through their state health department via the HHS emPOWER program.
Outage began, grew, restoration estimate changed, restored: by email, Slack, Teams, Discord or signed webhook, for Lapeer County or any town and utility in it.
No active NWS alerts for Lapeer County right now.
Lapeer County has been under 4 National Weather Service alerts recently, most recently a Frost Advisory on October 18, 2026.
- Special Weather Statement ×2
- Freeze Warning ×1
- Frost Advisory ×1
Hardest-hit cities in Lapeer County
Where this event is concentrated across the county's towns and townships.
Historical reliability
In 2025, the average customer in Lapeer County went about 6.6 hours without power. Peak simultaneous outage on record reached 15,406 customers.
The US EIA reports Michigan utilities averaged 10.1 hrs without power per customer (SAIDI) in 2025, a cross-check on our county estimate of 6.6 hrs.
Worst year here was 2021 (peak 9,491 customers out) · decade average 11.6 hrs without power per customer/yr.
| Year | Outage events | Peak customers out | Avg hrs/customer |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | 507 | 4,649 | 7.4 |
| 2016 | 78 | 5,315 | 2.7 |
| 2017 | 445 | 4,063 | 4.6 |
| 2018 | 564 | 15,406 | 17.0 |
| 2019 | 460 | 11,759 | 21.7 |
| 2020 | 524 | 7,496 | 9.9 |
| 2021 | 440 | 9,491 | 24.4 |
| 2022 | 534 | 5,784 | 14.1 |
| 2023 | 341 | 3,800 | 8.7 |
| 2024 | 378 | 4,787 | 10.6 |
| 2025 | 399 | 2,041 | 6.6 |
Cost of power in Lapeer County
ENERGY & AI DEMAND →Estimated residential electricity price for Lapeer County, customer-weighted across the utilities serving it (US EIA, 2025). Retail prices aren't published at the county level; this is a derived estimate.
- DTE Electric Company20.2¢2,078,315 cust
- Consumers Energy Co - (MI)20.7¢1,662,741 cust
Weighted by each utility's residential customer count (utilities report customers at the state level; a per-county share isn't published). Rising retail prices track a national demand surge; see energy & the data-center boom. What that adds up to each month, by state and utility: average electric bill.
Relatively High high winds exposure · 11.6 hrs/yr of outages over the last decade.
Power outages in Lapeer County: FAQ
- How often does Lapeer County, MI lose power?
- Based on EAGLE-I records, Lapeer County, MI logged 399 distinct outage events in 2025, averaging about 6.6 hours without power per customer over the year.
- What was the worst power outage in Lapeer County, MI?
- The largest tracked outage peaked at 15,406 customers without power, beginning May 2, 2018 and lasting about 8d 4h.
- Is there a power outage in Lapeer County, MI right now?
- None reported. Consumers Energy Co - (MI) has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. DTE Electric Company publishes only a system-wide total, not county figures.
Outages are tracked at the county level; these ZIP codes fall within Lapeer County.
48003, 48412, 48421, 48428, 48440, 48444, 48446, 48455, 48461, 48464, 48727, 48760
Electric providers serving this county
From EIA-861 service territory, with official reliability where reported. Territory is filed by county, so these are the utilities with lines anywhere in Lapeer County, not the one at a given address. All electric companies in Michigan →
| Provider | Official SAIDI (EIA) | Live | Report outage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Consumers Energy Co - (MI) | 13.7 hrs | Outages only | - |
| DTE Electric Company | 3.2 hrs | Live · total only | - |
Data from DOE/ORNL ODIN, DOE EAGLE-I, EIA Form 861 (utility reliability), EIA electricity retail prices and FEMA National Risk Index, every source we read. Historical figures derive from the DOE/ORNL EAGLE-I dataset (EAGLE-I tracked roughly 0% of Michigan customers). Machine-readable data: /api/v1/counties/26087 and /api/v1/counties/26087/history.