massoutage

Power Outages in McMinn County, TN

Is there a power outage in McMinn County, TN right now? None reported. As of October 19, 2026 15:55 UTC, no outages are reported by Volunteer Electric Coop in McMinn County, TN. City of Sweetwater has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for Athens Utility Board and City of Etowah.

McMinn County, TN is served by 4 tracked utilities. In 2025, the average customer here lost power for about 4.5 hours.

Cite this data
URL
https://massoutage.com/tennessee/mcminn-county
As of
October 19, 2026 15:55 UTC
Publisher
MassOutage

MassOutage, "Power Outages in McMinn County, TN", live data as of October 19, 2026 15:55 UTC. https://massoutage.com/tennessee/mcminn-county

Alert me
McMinn County, TN
Loading map…
This county Loading live outagesout
No outages reported

No active outages are reported by Volunteer Electric Coop in McMinn County.

City of Sweetwater only appearsin feeds while reporting outages, so no report isn't a confirmed all-clear.

No live feed for Athens Utility Board and City of Etowah: outages in theirservice area won't show here.

Report an outage in McMinn County, TN

Report it to your electric utility; MassOutage can't take reports. For a downed line, stay at least 35 feet away and call 911.

No outage contact on file for Volunteer Electric Coop, City of Sweetwater, Athens Utility Board and City of Etowah; check your electric bill or the utility's website.

Not sure which utility serves you? →

Live status by utility · McMinn County

36%of this county's ~24,243 customers are served by utilities with a county-level live feed.

Blind spots

We can't see outages for: Athens Utility Board, City of Etowah. Their customers are not in any number on this page; check their own outage maps.

Only visible while reporting outages: City of Sweetwater. Zero here is not a confirmed all-clear.

UtilityFeedOutServed% outSmall outagesIncidentsUtility ETRAs of
Volunteer Electric CoopLive · county08,7870.0%---
City of SweetwaterOutages onlynone reported------
Athens Utility BoardNo live feedcan't see------
City of EtowahNo live feedcan't see------

Volunteer Electric Coop reportsevery town in the county on each poll, so 0 out is a real all-clear. ETRs are the utility's own estimates.

Electricity-dependent residents

HHS emPOWER · data October 7, 2026

Medicare beneficiaries in McMinn Countywho rely on electricity-dependent medical equipment (ventilators, oxygen concentrators, home dialysis, powered wheelchairs, and more). HHS reports counts of 1–10 as “≤11”. Medicare only, so the full at-risk population is larger.

Power-dependent
1,078
Oxygen service
248
Dialysis (facility)
85
Home health / hospice
188
By ZIP code (6)
ZIPPower-dependentVentilatorsO2 concentratorsHome dialysis
37303495≤11381≤11
37331151≤11130≤11
37329128≤1197≤11
3782699≤1181≤11
3737085≤1173≤11
3730948038≤11

Emergency managers can request identified beneficiary lists through their state health department via the HHS emPOWER program.

🔔 Alerts for McMinn County, TN

Outage began, grew, restoration estimate changed, restored: by email, Slack, Teams, Discord or signed webhook, for McMinn County or any town and utility in it.

◢ ACTIVE WEATHER ALERTS · NWS

No active NWS alerts for McMinn County right now.

Recent NWS alert activity · McMinn County

McMinn County has been under 15 National Weather Service alerts recently, most recently a Special Weather Statement on October 13, 2026.

  • Special Weather Statement ×10
  • Wind Advisory ×3
  • Flood Advisory ×2

Latest McMinn County, TN outage updates

A running log of how this outage has changed, updated automatically as utilities report in.

  1. RESOLVED

    Power restored after 1h 55m

  2. GREW

    Outage grew to 746 customers out (2.5% of the county)

  3. OUTAGE BEGAN

    Outage began: 408 customers out (1.3% of the county)

Outage trend · McMinn County, TN
0customers out · peak 5
Data as of Oct 19, 2026 15:50 UTC
McMinn County, TN: customers without power, last 24 hoursPeak 5 customers out; latest 0 as of Oct 19, 2026 15:50 UTC. Each point is the highest reading in its interval.024612 PM6 PMOct 196 AM
Use the arrow keys to read values.
Times in EDT. Shaded stretches had no reading.

Hardest-hit cities in McMinn County

Where this event is concentrated across the county's towns and townships.

No cities on file for this county

Historical reliability

In 2025, the average customer in McMinn County went about 4.5 hours without power. Peak simultaneous outage on record reached 3,518 customers.

Official state benchmark (EIA 2025)Source: US EIA

The US EIA reports Tennessee utilities averaged 3.8 hrs without power per customer (SAIDI) in 2025, a cross-check on our county estimate of 4.5 hrs.

A decade of outages (2015–2025)
avg hrs without power / customer
McMinn County average outage hours per customer by year2015–2025: 2015 0.0h, 2016 0.0h, 2017 0.0h, 2018 0.0h, 2019 1.8h, 2020 1.7h, 2021 1.4h, 2022 4.6h, 2023 5.7h, 2024 3.5h, 2025 4.5h. Highlighted: 2023.02460.0h20150.0h20160.0h20170.0h20181.8h20191.7h20201.4h20214.6h20225.7h20233.5h20244.5h2025
Use the arrow keys to read values.

Worst year here was 2023 (peak 3,518 customers out) · decade average 2.1 hrs without power per customer/yr.

YearOutage eventsPeak customers outAvg hrs/customer
2015520.0
201634430.0
2017311420.0
201812100.0
20196971,4151.8
20205601,5071.7
20215291,7931.4
20226103,3074.6
20236713,5185.7
20246403,4773.5
20256922,8174.5

Cost of power in McMinn County

ENERGY & AI DEMAND →

Estimated residential electricity price for McMinn County, customer-weighted across the utilities serving it (US EIA, 2025). Retail prices aren't published at the county level; this is a derived estimate.

12.8¢/kWh
estimated residential average
▲ 24% since 2015
vs Tennessee avg 13.7¢
vs US avg 20.0¢
BY UTILITY · RESIDENTIAL ¢/kWh

Weighted by each utility's residential customer count (utilities report customers at the state level; a per-county share isn't published). Rising retail prices track a national demand surge; see energy & the data-center boom. What that adds up to each month, by state and utility: average electric bill.

Worst recorded outages
STARTEDPEAK OUTDURATION
March 3, 20233,5182d 13h
July 30, 20243,4771d 5h
March 31, 20223,3071d 15h
July 29, 20242,92830m
September 27, 20242,8711d 1h
See the biggest power outages in US history →
Natural hazards & outage risk
MODERATE

Relatively Moderate high winds exposure · 2.1 hrs/yr of outages over the last decade.

TornadoRelatively Moderate
Strong windRelatively Moderate

FEMA rates this county’s social vulnerability relatively moderate: outages hit harder where communities are less able to respond and recover.

All hazard rankings →

Power outages in McMinn County: FAQ

How often does McMinn County, TN lose power?
Based on EAGLE-I records, McMinn County, TN logged 692 distinct outage events in 2025, averaging about 4.5 hours without power per customer over the year.
What was the worst power outage in McMinn County, TN?
The largest tracked outage peaked at 3,518 customers without power, beginning March 3, 2023 and lasting about 2d 13h.
Is there a power outage in McMinn County, TN right now?
None reported. As of October 19, 2026 15:55 UTC, no outages are reported by Volunteer Electric Coop in McMinn County, TN. City of Sweetwater has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for Athens Utility Board and City of Etowah.
Which utilities serve McMinn County, TN?
Tracked electric providers include City of Sweetwater, Volunteer Electric Coop.
ZIP codes in McMinn County

Outages are tracked at the county level; these ZIP codes fall within McMinn County.

37303, 37309, 37329, 37331, 37370, 37826

Electric providers serving this county

From EIA-861 service territory, with official reliability where reported. Territory is filed by county, so these are the utilities with lines anywhere in McMinn County, not the one at a given address. All electric companies in Tennessee →

ProviderOfficial SAIDI (EIA)LiveReport outage
Volunteer Electric Coop-Live · county-
City of Sweetwater-Outages only-
Athens Utility Board-No live feed-
City of Etowah-No live feed-

Data from DOE/ORNL ODIN, DOE EAGLE-I, EIA Form 861 (utility reliability), EIA electricity retail prices and FEMA National Risk Index, every source we read. Historical figures derive from the DOE/ORNL EAGLE-I dataset (EAGLE-I tracked roughly 0% of Tennessee customers). Machine-readable data: /api/v1/counties/47107 and /api/v1/counties/47107/history.