Power Outages in Sullivan County, NY
Is there a power outage in Sullivan County, NY right now? None reported. As of October 19, 2026 14:56 UTC, no outages are reported by Orange & Rockland Utils Inc and Central Hudson Gas & Elec Corp in Sullivan County, NY. AVANGRID has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for New York State Elec & Gas Corp.
Sullivan County, NY is served by 4 tracked utilities. In 2025, the average customer here lost power for about 8.7 hours.
Cite this data
- URL
- https://massoutage.com/new-york/sullivan-county
- As of
- October 19, 2026 14:56 UTC
- Publisher
- MassOutage
MassOutage, "Power Outages in Sullivan County, NY", live data as of October 19, 2026 14:56 UTC. https://massoutage.com/new-york/sullivan-county
No active outages are reported by Orange & Rockland Utils Inc and Central Hudson Gas & Elec Corp in Sullivan County.
AVANGRID only appearsin feeds while reporting outages, so no report isn't a confirmed all-clear.
No live feed for New York State Elec & Gas Corp: outages in itsservice area won't show here.
Report an outage in Sullivan County, NY
Report it to your electric utility; MassOutage can't take reports. For a downed line, stay at least 35 feet away and call 911.
No outage contact on file for New York State Elec & Gas Corp, AVANGRID and Orange & Rockland Utils Inc; check your electric bill or the utility's website.
18%of this county's ~58,781 customers are served by utilities with a county-level live feed.
We can't see outages for: New York State Elec & Gas Corp. Their customers are not in any number on this page; check their own outage maps.
Only visible while reporting outages: AVANGRID. Zero here is not a confirmed all-clear.
| Utility | Feed | Out | Served | % out | Small outages | Incidents | Utility ETR | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Orange & Rockland Utils Inc | Live · county | 0 | 9,236 | 0.0% | - | 0 | - | |
| Central Hudson Gas & Elec Corp | Live · county | 0 | 1,374 | 0.0% | - | 0 | - | |
| AVANGRID | Outages only | none reported | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| New York State Elec & Gas Corp | No live feed | can't see | - | - | - | - | - | - |
Orange & Rockland Utils Inc and Central Hudson Gas & Elec Corp reportevery town in the county on each poll, so 0 out is a real all-clear. ETRs are the utility's own estimates.
Municipalities in Sullivan County
Town-by-town counts as reported by Orange & Rockland Utilities, Central Hudson Gas & Elec Corp, most affected first. A town served by more than one utility appears once per utility; utilities without a town-level feed aren't included. Updated .
| Town | Utility | Out | Served | % out | Utility ETR | Small outages |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| No outages reported in any town by Orange & Rockland Utilities, Central Hudson Gas & Elec Corp. | ||||||
Show 7 towns with no outages
| BLOOMINGBURG | Orange & Rockland Utilities | 0 | 268 | 0.0% | - | - |
| FALLSBURG | Central Hudson Gas & Elec Corp | 0 | 9 | 0.0% | - | - |
| FORESTBURGH | Orange & Rockland Utilities | 0 | 672 | 0.0% | - | - |
| LUMBERLAND | Orange & Rockland Utilities | 0 | 1,755 | 0.0% | - | - |
| MAMAKATING | Orange & Rockland Utilities | 0 | 5,822 | 0.0% | - | - |
| NEVERSINK | Central Hudson Gas & Elec Corp | 0 | 1,365 | 0.0% | - | - |
| WURTSBORO | Orange & Rockland Utilities | 0 | 719 | 0.0% | - | - |
Active outages in Sullivan County0
No individual outages are listed by utilities with an outage-level feed right now.
Electricity-dependent residents
HHS emPOWER · data October 7, 2026Medicare beneficiaries in Sullivan Countywho rely on electricity-dependent medical equipment (ventilators, oxygen concentrators, home dialysis, powered wheelchairs, and more). HHS reports counts of 1–10 as “≤11”. Medicare only, so the full at-risk population is larger.
By ZIP code (45)
| ZIP | Power-dependent | Ventilators | O2 concentrators | Home dialysis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 12701 | 139 | ≤11 | 95 | ≤11 |
| 12754 | 83 | ≤11 | 62 | 0 |
| 12790 | 74 | ≤11 | 61 | ≤11 |
| 12758 | 54 | ≤11 | 47 | 0 |
| 12721 | 54 | ≤11 | 46 | 0 |
| 12742 | 40 | ≤11 | 18 | 0 |
| 12759 | 37 | ≤11 | 25 | ≤11 |
| 12788 | 26 | ≤11 | 22 | 0 |
| 12764 | 21 | ≤11 | 14 | 0 |
| 12737 | 18 | ≤11 | 13 | 0 |
| 12789 | 16 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12775 | 14 | ≤11 | ≤11 | ≤11 |
| 12748 | 14 | ≤11 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12723 | 13 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12792 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12791 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12787 | ≤11 | ≤11 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12786 | ≤11 | ≤11 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12783 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12779 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12778 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12777 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12770 | ≤11 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 12768 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12766 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12765 | ≤11 | ≤11 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12763 | ≤11 | ≤11 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12762 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12752 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12751 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12750 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12749 | ≤11 | ≤11 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12747 | ≤11 | ≤11 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12745 | ≤11 | ≤11 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12743 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12741 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12738 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12736 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12734 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12733 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12732 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12726 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12724 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12720 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12719 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | ≤11 |
Emergency managers can request identified beneficiary lists through their state health department via the HHS emPOWER program.
Outage began, grew, restoration estimate changed, restored: by email, Slack, Teams, Discord or signed webhook, for Sullivan County or any town and utility in it.
No active NWS alerts for Sullivan County right now.
Sullivan County has been under 7 National Weather Service alerts recently, most recently a Severe Thunderstorm Warning on October 16, 2026.
- Severe Thunderstorm Warning ×4
- Severe Thunderstorm Watch ×2
- Special Weather Statement ×1
Latest Sullivan County, NY outage updates
A running log of how this outage has changed, updated automatically as utilities report in.
- RESOLVED
Power restored after 2h 35m
- RESTORATION ETA
Restoration now estimated September 23, 2026
- RESTORATION ETA
Restoration now estimated September 23, 2026
- OUTAGE BEGAN
Outage began: 444 customers out (1.1% of the county)
- RESOLVED
Power restored after 54m
- IMPROVING
Improving: down to 326 customers out
- OUTAGE BEGAN
Outage began: 576 customers out (1.4% of the county)
Historical reliability
In 2025, the average customer in Sullivan County went about 8.7 hours without power. Peak simultaneous outage on record reached 40,509 customers.
The US EIA reports New York utilities averaged 4.0 hrs without power per customer (SAIDI) in 2025, a cross-check on our county estimate of 8.7 hrs.
Worst year here was 2018 (peak 30,056 customers out) · decade average 19.5 hrs without power per customer/yr.
| Year | Outage events | Peak customers out | Avg hrs/customer |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | 584 | 40,509 | 12.2 |
| 2016 | 564 | 6,990 | 9.6 |
| 2017 | 555 | 6,618 | 10.2 |
| 2018 | 529 | 30,056 | 82.5 |
| 2019 | 534 | 12,119 | 12.3 |
| 2020 | 571 | 12,651 | 19.2 |
| 2021 | 637 | 5,927 | 11.6 |
| 2022 | 707 | 7,758 | 10.7 |
| 2023 | 679 | 9,259 | 11.5 |
| 2024 | 628 | 12,419 | 26.0 |
| 2025 | 692 | 5,828 | 8.7 |
Cost of power in Sullivan County
ENERGY & AI DEMAND →Estimated residential electricity price for Sullivan County, customer-weighted across the utilities serving it (US EIA, 2025). Retail prices aren't published at the county level; this is a derived estimate.
- New York State Elec & Gas Corp22.6¢747,709 cust
- Central Hudson Gas & Elec Corp27.7¢246,232 cust
- Orange & Rockland Utils Inc26.2¢193,698 cust
Weighted by each utility's residential customer count (utilities report customers at the state level; a per-county share isn't published). Rising retail prices track a national demand surge; see energy & the data-center boom. What that adds up to each month, by state and utility: average electric bill.
What causes outages here
Share of outage-time by reported cause, from live ODIN utility reports. Why does my power keep going out? →
Relatively Moderate high winds exposure · 19.5 hrs/yr of outages over the last decade.
FEMA rates this county’s social vulnerability relatively moderate: outages hit harder where communities are less able to respond and recover.
All hazard rankings →Power outages in Sullivan County: FAQ
- How often does Sullivan County, NY lose power?
- Based on EAGLE-I records, Sullivan County, NY logged 692 distinct outage events in 2025, averaging about 8.7 hours without power per customer over the year.
- What was the worst power outage in Sullivan County, NY?
- The largest tracked outage peaked at 40,509 customers without power, beginning September 2, 2015 and lasting about 4h.
- Is there a power outage in Sullivan County, NY right now?
- None reported. As of October 19, 2026 14:56 UTC, no outages are reported by Orange & Rockland Utils Inc and Central Hudson Gas & Elec Corp in Sullivan County, NY. AVANGRID has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for New York State Elec & Gas Corp.
- Which utilities serve Sullivan County, NY?
- Tracked electric providers include AVANGRID, Central Hudson Gas & Elec Corp, Orange & Rockland Utils Inc.
Outages are tracked at the county level; these ZIP codes fall within Sullivan County (showing 40 of 52).
12483, 12701, 12719, 12720, 12721, 12722, 12723, 12724, 12726, 12732, 12733, 12734, 12736, 12737, 12738, 12741, 12742, 12743, 12745, 12747, 12748, 12749, 12750, 12751, 12752, 12754, 12758, 12759, 12762, 12763, 12764, 12765, 12766, 12767, 12768, 12769, 12770, 12775, 12777, 12778
Electric providers serving this county
From EIA-861 service territory, with official reliability where reported. Territory is filed by county, so these are the utilities with lines anywhere in Sullivan County, not the one at a given address. All electric companies in New York →
| Provider | Official SAIDI (EIA) | Live | Report outage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Central Hudson Gas & Elec Corp | 4.8 hrs | Live · county | Outage map ↗ |
| New York State Elec & Gas Corp | - | No live feed | - |
| AVANGRID | - | Outages only | - |
| Orange & Rockland Utils Inc | - | Live · county | - |
Data from DOE/ORNL ODIN, DOE EAGLE-I, EIA Form 861 (utility reliability), EIA electricity retail prices and FEMA National Risk Index, every source we read. Historical figures derive from the DOE/ORNL EAGLE-I dataset (EAGLE-I tracked roughly 0% of New York customers). Machine-readable data: /api/v1/counties/36105 and /api/v1/counties/36105/history.