Power Outages in Chippewa County, MN
Is there a power outage in Chippewa County, MN right now? None reported. As of October 19, 2026 21:55 UTC, no outages are reported by Otter Tail Power Co, Kandiyohi Power Coop and Northern States Power Co - Minnesota in Chippewa County, MN. Agralite Electric Coop and Renville-Sibley Coop Pwr Assn have not reported outages here, but they only publish active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for City of Granite Falls - (MN), Minnesota Valley Coop L&P Assn and WAPA-- Western Area Power Administration.
Chippewa County, MN is served by 8 tracked utilities. In 2025, the average customer here lost power for about 3.3 hours.
Cite this data
- URL
- https://massoutage.com/minnesota/chippewa-county
- As of
- October 19, 2026 21:55 UTC
- Publisher
- MassOutage
MassOutage, "Power Outages in Chippewa County, MN", live data as of October 19, 2026 21:55 UTC. https://massoutage.com/minnesota/chippewa-county
No active outages are reported by Otter Tail Power Co, Kandiyohi Power Coop and Northern States Power Co - Minnesota in Chippewa County.
Agralite Electric Coop and Renville-Sibley Coop Pwr Assn only appearin feeds while reporting outages, so no report isn't a confirmed all-clear.
No live feed for City of Granite Falls - (MN), Minnesota Valley Coop L&P Assn and WAPA-- Western Area Power Administration: outages in theirservice area won't show here.
Report an outage in Chippewa County, MN
Report it to your electric utility; MassOutage can't take reports. For a downed line, stay at least 35 feet away and call 911.
No outage contact on file for Otter Tail Power Co, Northern States Power Co - Minnesota, Minnesota Valley Coop L&P Assn, Agralite Electric Coop, WAPA-- Western Area Power Administration, Renville-Sibley Coop Pwr Assn and 2 more; check your electric bill or the utility's website.
5.1%of this county's ~6,903 customers are served by utilities with a county-level live feed.
We can't see outages for: City of Granite Falls - (MN), Minnesota Valley Coop L&P Assn, WAPA-- Western Area Power Administration. Their customers are not in any number on this page; check their own outage maps.
Only visible while reporting outages: Agralite Electric Coop, Renville-Sibley Coop Pwr Assn. Zero here is not a confirmed all-clear.
| Utility | Feed | Out | Served | % out | Small outages | Incidents | Utility ETR | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Otter Tail Power Co | Live · county | 0 | 235 | 0.0% | - | - | - | |
| Kandiyohi Power Coop | Live · county | 0 | 119 | 0.0% | - | - | - | |
| Agralite Electric Coop | Outages only | none reported | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Northern States Power Co - Minnesota | Live · county | 0 | - | - | - | 0 | - | |
| Renville-Sibley Coop Pwr Assn | Outages only | none reported | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| City of Granite Falls - (MN) | No live feed | can't see | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Minnesota Valley Coop L&P Assn | No live feed | can't see | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| WAPA-- Western Area Power Administration | No live feed | can't see | - | - | - | - | - | - |
Otter Tail Power Co, Kandiyohi Power Coop and Northern States Power Co - Minnesota reportevery town in the county on each poll, so 0 out is a real all-clear. ETRs are the utility's own estimates.
Electricity-dependent residents
HHS emPOWER · data October 7, 2026Medicare beneficiaries in Chippewa Countywho rely on electricity-dependent medical equipment (ventilators, oxygen concentrators, home dialysis, powered wheelchairs, and more). HHS reports counts of 1–10 as “≤11”. Medicare only, so the full at-risk population is larger.
By ZIP code (5)
| ZIP | Power-dependent | Ventilators | O2 concentrators | Home dialysis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 56265 | 90 | ≤11 | 57 | ≤11 |
| 56222 | 23 | ≤11 | 15 | 0 |
| 56260 | 13 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 56295 | ≤11 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 56262 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
Emergency managers can request identified beneficiary lists through their state health department via the HHS emPOWER program.
Outage began, grew, restoration estimate changed, restored: by email, Slack, Teams, Discord or signed webhook, for Chippewa County or any town and utility in it.
No active NWS alerts for Chippewa County right now.
Chippewa County has been under 10 National Weather Service alerts recently, most recently a Freeze Warning on October 17, 2026.
- Dense Fog Advisory ×5
- Freeze Warning ×3
- Freeze Watch ×1
- Special Weather Statement ×1
Latest Chippewa County, MN outage updates
A running log of how this outage has changed, updated automatically as utilities report in.
- RESOLVED
Power restored after 14m
- OUTAGE BEGAN
Outage began: 279 customers out (4.7% of the county)
- RESOLVED
Power restored after 40m
- OUTAGE BEGAN
Outage began: 279 customers out (4.7% of the county)
- RESOLVED
Power restored after 6h 25m
- RESTORATION ETA
Restoration now estimated September 20, 2026
- RESTORATION ETA
Restoration now estimated September 20, 2026
- RESTORATION ETA
Restoration now estimated September 20, 2026
Hardest-hit cities in Chippewa County
Where this event is concentrated across the county's towns and townships.
Historical reliability
In 2025, the average customer in Chippewa County went about 3.3 hours without power. Peak simultaneous outage on record reached 2,636 customers.
The US EIA reports Minnesota utilities averaged 3.0 hrs without power per customer (SAIDI) in 2025, a cross-check on our county estimate of 3.3 hrs.
Worst year here was 2022 (peak 2,636 customers out) · decade average 2.0 hrs without power per customer/yr.
| Year | Outage events | Peak customers out | Avg hrs/customer |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | 160 | 152 | 0.5 |
| 2016 | 79 | 2,613 | 3.7 |
| 2017 | 2 | 1 | 0.0 |
| 2018 | 155 | 785 | 0.7 |
| 2019 | 121 | 2,475 | 1.2 |
| 2020 | 120 | 1,050 | 2.3 |
| 2021 | 117 | 384 | 1.2 |
| 2022 | 155 | 2,636 | 7.0 |
| 2023 | 130 | 787 | 0.8 |
| 2024 | 162 | 954 | 1.1 |
| 2025 | 180 | 1,643 | 3.3 |
Cost of power in Chippewa County
ENERGY & AI DEMAND →Estimated residential electricity price for Chippewa County, customer-weighted across the utilities serving it (US EIA, 2025). Retail prices aren't published at the county level; this is a derived estimate.
- Northern States Power Co - Minnesota17.1¢1,243,236 cust
- Otter Tail Power Co11.3¢50,219 cust
- Minnesota Valley Coop L&P Assn13.2¢4,946 cust
- Agralite Electric Coop13.7¢4,348 cust
Weighted by each utility's residential customer count (utilities report customers at the state level; a per-county share isn't published). Rising retail prices track a national demand surge; see energy & the data-center boom. What that adds up to each month, by state and utility: average electric bill.
Relatively Moderate high winds exposure · 2.0 hrs/yr of outages over the last decade.
FEMA rates this county’s social vulnerability relatively high: outages hit harder where communities are less able to respond and recover.
All hazard rankings →Power outages in Chippewa County: FAQ
- How often does Chippewa County, MN lose power?
- Based on EAGLE-I records, Chippewa County, MN logged 180 distinct outage events in 2025, averaging about 3.3 hours without power per customer over the year.
- What was the worst power outage in Chippewa County, MN?
- The largest tracked outage peaked at 2,636 customers without power, beginning May 12, 2022 and lasting about 1d 4h.
- Is there a power outage in Chippewa County, MN right now?
- None reported. As of October 19, 2026 21:55 UTC, no outages are reported by Otter Tail Power Co, Kandiyohi Power Coop and Northern States Power Co - Minnesota in Chippewa County, MN. Agralite Electric Coop and Renville-Sibley Coop Pwr Assn have not reported outages here, but they only publish active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for City of Granite Falls - (MN), Minnesota Valley Coop L&P Assn and WAPA-- Western Area Power Administration.
- Which utilities serve Chippewa County, MN?
- Tracked electric providers include Northern States Power Co - Minnesota, Otter Tail Power Co.
Outages are tracked at the county level; these ZIP codes fall within Chippewa County.
56222, 56260, 56262, 56265, 56295
Electric providers serving this county
From EIA-861 service territory, with official reliability where reported. Territory is filed by county, so these are the utilities with lines anywhere in Chippewa County, not the one at a given address. All electric companies in Minnesota →
| Provider | Official SAIDI (EIA) | Live | Report outage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Otter Tail Power Co | 8.9 hrs | Live · county | - |
| Northern States Power Co - Minnesota | 3.6 hrs | Live · county | - |
| Minnesota Valley Coop L&P Assn | 2.1 hrs | No live feed | - |
| Agralite Electric Coop | 4.3 hrs | Outages only | - |
| WAPA-- Western Area Power Administration | - | No live feed | - |
| Renville-Sibley Coop Pwr Assn | - | Outages only | - |
| Kandiyohi Power Coop | - | Live · county | - |
| City of Granite Falls - (MN) | - | No live feed | - |
Data from DOE/ORNL ODIN, DOE EAGLE-I, EIA Form 861 (utility reliability), EIA electricity retail prices and FEMA National Risk Index, every source we read. Historical figures derive from the DOE/ORNL EAGLE-I dataset (EAGLE-I tracked roughly 0% of Minnesota customers). Machine-readable data: /api/v1/counties/27023 and /api/v1/counties/27023/history.