massoutage

Power Outages in Ionia County, MI

Is there a power outage in Ionia County, MI right now? None reported. As of October 19, 2026 17:00 UTC, no outages are reported by Tri-County Electric Coop (MI) in Ionia County, MI. Consumers Energy Co - (MI) has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for City of Portland - (MI) and Wolverine Power Supply Coop.

Ionia County, MI is served by 4 tracked utilities. In 2025, the average customer here lost power for about 11.0 hours.

Cite this data
URL
https://massoutage.com/michigan/ionia-county
As of
October 19, 2026 17:00 UTC
Publisher
MassOutage

MassOutage, "Power Outages in Ionia County, MI", live data as of October 19, 2026 17:00 UTC. https://massoutage.com/michigan/ionia-county

Alert me
Ionia County, MI
Loading map…
This county Loading live outagesout
No outages reported

No active outages are reported by Tri-County Electric Coop (MI) in Ionia County.

Consumers Energy Co - (MI) only appearsin feeds while reporting outages, so no report isn't a confirmed all-clear.

No live feed for City of Portland - (MI) and Wolverine Power Supply Coop: outages in theirservice area won't show here.

Report an outage in Ionia County, MI

Report it to your electric utility; MassOutage can't take reports. For a downed line, stay at least 35 feet away and call 911.

No outage contact on file for Consumers Energy Co - (MI), Tri-County Electric Coop (MI), Wolverine Power Supply Coop and City of Portland - (MI); check your electric bill or the utility's website.

Not sure which utility serves you? →

Live status by utility · Ionia County

12%of this county's ~27,272 customers are served by utilities with a county-level live feed.

Blind spots

We can't see outages for: City of Portland - (MI), Wolverine Power Supply Coop. Their customers are not in any number on this page; check their own outage maps.

Only visible while reporting outages: Consumers Energy Co - (MI). Zero here is not a confirmed all-clear.

UtilityFeedOutServed% outSmall outagesIncidentsUtility ETRAs of
Tri-County Electric Coop (MI)Live · county03,1390.0%---
Consumers Energy Co - (MI)Outages onlynone reported------
City of Portland - (MI)No live feedcan't see------
Wolverine Power Supply CoopNo live feedcan't see------

Tri-County Electric Coop (MI) reportsevery town in the county on each poll, so 0 out is a real all-clear. ETRs are the utility's own estimates.

Electricity-dependent residents

HHS emPOWER · data October 7, 2026

Medicare beneficiaries in Ionia Countywho rely on electricity-dependent medical equipment (ventilators, oxygen concentrators, home dialysis, powered wheelchairs, and more). HHS reports counts of 1–10 as “≤11”. Medicare only, so the full at-risk population is larger.

Power-dependent
756
Oxygen service
230
Dialysis (facility)
91
Home health / hospice
200
By ZIP code (11)
ZIPPower-dependentVentilatorsO2 concentratorsHome dialysis
48846196≤11146≤11
48809144≤11102≤11
488751080750
4884982060≤11
4888156≤11350
48865300240
4881530017≤11
48851260210
48860240170
48873150≤110
4884514≤11≤110

Emergency managers can request identified beneficiary lists through their state health department via the HHS emPOWER program.

🔔 Alerts for Ionia County, MI

Outage began, grew, restoration estimate changed, restored: by email, Slack, Teams, Discord or signed webhook, for Ionia County or any town and utility in it.

◢ ACTIVE WEATHER ALERTS · NWS

No active NWS alerts for Ionia County right now.

Recent NWS alert activity · Ionia County

Ionia County has been under 2 National Weather Service alerts recently, most recently a Freeze Warning on October 17, 2026.

  • Freeze Warning ×2
Outage trend · Ionia County, MI
0customers out
Data as of Oct 19, 2026 17:00 UTC
Ionia County, MI: customers without power, last 24 hoursPeak 0 customers out; latest 0 as of Oct 19, 2026 17:00 UTC. Each point is the highest reading in its interval.00.30.50.816 PMOct 196 AM12 PM
Use the arrow keys to read values.
Times in EDT. Shaded stretches had no reading.

Hardest-hit cities in Ionia County

Where this event is concentrated across the county's towns and townships.

No cities on file for this county

Historical reliability

In 2025, the average customer in Ionia County went about 11.0 hours without power. Peak simultaneous outage on record reached 14,143 customers.

Official state benchmark (EIA 2025)Source: US EIA

The US EIA reports Michigan utilities averaged 10.1 hrs without power per customer (SAIDI) in 2025, a cross-check on our county estimate of 11.0 hrs.

A decade of outages (2015–2025)
avg hrs without power / customer
Ionia County average outage hours per customer by year2015–2025: 2015 5.4h, 2016 2.9h, 2017 9.5h, 2018 7.6h, 2019 40.7h, 2020 5.4h, 2021 14.3h, 2022 6.1h, 2023 24.3h, 2024 8.9h, 2025 11.0h. Highlighted: 2019.02040605.4h20152.9h20169.5h20177.6h201840.7h20195.4h202014.3h20216.1h202224.3h20238.9h202411.0h2025
Use the arrow keys to read values.

Worst year here was 2019 (peak 14,143 customers out) · decade average 12.4 hrs without power per customer/yr.

YearOutage eventsPeak customers outAvg hrs/customer
20154722,6575.4
20163022,1482.9
201749310,3619.5
20184895,8877.6
201955314,14340.7
20205844,8355.4
20215924,85614.3
20226242,8796.1
202358612,62324.3
20246295,8498.9
20256084,29311.0

Cost of power in Ionia County

ENERGY & AI DEMAND →

Estimated residential electricity price for Ionia County, customer-weighted across the utilities serving it (US EIA, 2025). Retail prices aren't published at the county level; this is a derived estimate.

20.5¢/kWh
estimated residential average
▲ 40% since 2015
vs Michigan avg 23.1¢
vs US avg 20.0¢
BY UTILITY · RESIDENTIAL ¢/kWh

Weighted by each utility's residential customer count (utilities report customers at the state level; a per-county share isn't published). Rising retail prices track a national demand surge; see energy & the data-center boom. What that adds up to each month, by state and utility: average electric bill.

Worst recorded outages
STARTEDPEAK OUTDURATION
February 6, 201914,1436d 1h
August 25, 202312,6235d
March 9, 201710,36121h
May 9, 20185,88716h 15m
August 27, 20245,8493d 7h
See the biggest power outages in US history →
Natural hazards & outage risk
HIGH

Relatively High high winds exposure · 12.4 hrs/yr of outages over the last decade.

Strong windRelatively High
TornadoRelatively Moderate
Ice stormRelatively Moderate
All hazard rankings →

Power outages in Ionia County: FAQ

How often does Ionia County, MI lose power?
Based on EAGLE-I records, Ionia County, MI logged 608 distinct outage events in 2025, averaging about 11.0 hours without power per customer over the year.
What was the worst power outage in Ionia County, MI?
The largest tracked outage peaked at 14,143 customers without power, beginning February 6, 2019 and lasting about 6d 1h.
Is there a power outage in Ionia County, MI right now?
None reported. As of October 19, 2026 17:00 UTC, no outages are reported by Tri-County Electric Coop (MI) in Ionia County, MI. Consumers Energy Co - (MI) has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for City of Portland - (MI) and Wolverine Power Supply Coop.
Which utilities serve Ionia County, MI?
Tracked electric providers include Consumers Energy Co - (MI), Tri-County Electric Coop (MI).
ZIP codes in Ionia County

Outages are tracked at the county level; these ZIP codes fall within Ionia County.

48809, 48815, 48845, 48846, 48849, 48851, 48860, 48865, 48870, 48873, 48875, 48881

Electric providers serving this county

From EIA-861 service territory, with official reliability where reported. Territory is filed by county, so these are the utilities with lines anywhere in Ionia County, not the one at a given address. All electric companies in Michigan →

ProviderOfficial SAIDI (EIA)LiveReport outage
Consumers Energy Co - (MI)13.7 hrsOutages only-
Tri-County Electric Coop (MI)19.2 hrsLive · county-
Wolverine Power Supply Coop-No live feed-
City of Portland - (MI)-No live feed-

Data from DOE/ORNL ODIN, DOE EAGLE-I, EIA Form 861 (utility reliability), EIA electricity retail prices and FEMA National Risk Index, every source we read. Historical figures derive from the DOE/ORNL EAGLE-I dataset (EAGLE-I tracked roughly 0% of Michigan customers). Machine-readable data: /api/v1/counties/26067 and /api/v1/counties/26067/history.