Power Outages in Calhoun County, MI
Is there a power outage in Calhoun County, MI right now? None reported. Consumers Energy Co - (MI) has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for City of Marshall - (MI).
Calhoun County, MI is served by 2 tracked utilities. In 2025, the average customer here lost power for about 21.0 hours.
Cite this data
- URL
- https://massoutage.com/michigan/calhoun-county
- As of
- Not available
- Publisher
- MassOutage
MassOutage, "Power Outages in Calhoun County, MI". https://massoutage.com/michigan/calhoun-county
Consumers Energy Co - (MI) only appearsin feeds while reporting outages, so no report isn't a confirmed all-clear.
No live feed for City of Marshall - (MI): outages in itsservice area won't show here.
Report an outage in Calhoun County, MI
Report it to your electric utility; MassOutage can't take reports. For a downed line, stay at least 35 feet away and call 911.
No outage contact on file for Consumers Energy Co - (MI) and City of Marshall - (MI); check your electric bill or the utility's website.
0.0%of this county's ~68,108 customers are served by utilities with a county-level live feed.
We can't see outages for: City of Marshall - (MI). Their customers are not in any number on this page; check their own outage maps.
Only visible while reporting outages: Consumers Energy Co - (MI). Zero here is not a confirmed all-clear.
| Utility | Feed | Out | Served | % out | Small outages | Incidents | Utility ETR | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Consumers Energy Co - (MI) | Outages only | none reported | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| City of Marshall - (MI) | No live feed | can't see | - | - | - | - | - | - |
Electricity-dependent residents
HHS emPOWER · data October 7, 2026Medicare beneficiaries in Calhoun Countywho rely on electricity-dependent medical equipment (ventilators, oxygen concentrators, home dialysis, powered wheelchairs, and more). HHS reports counts of 1–10 as “≤11”. Medicare only, so the full at-risk population is larger.
By ZIP code (12)
| ZIP | Power-dependent | Ventilators | O2 concentrators | Home dialysis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 49037 | 318 | ≤11 | 256 | ≤11 |
| 49015 | 292 | ≤11 | 218 | ≤11 |
| 49017 | 287 | ≤11 | 210 | ≤11 |
| 49014 | 244 | ≤11 | 185 | ≤11 |
| 49224 | 161 | ≤11 | 114 | ≤11 |
| 49068 | 156 | ≤11 | 96 | ≤11 |
| 49245 | 61 | ≤11 | 44 | ≤11 |
| 49092 | 39 | 0 | 26 | ≤11 |
| 49029 | 32 | ≤11 | 22 | 0 |
| 49051 | 28 | 0 | 14 | ≤11 |
| 49011 | 24 | 0 | 21 | 0 |
| 49033 | 14 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
Emergency managers can request identified beneficiary lists through their state health department via the HHS emPOWER program.
Outage began, grew, restoration estimate changed, restored: by email, Slack, Teams, Discord or signed webhook, for Calhoun County or any town and utility in it.
No active NWS alerts for Calhoun County right now.
Calhoun County has been under 10 National Weather Service alerts recently, most recently a Frost Advisory on October 18, 2026.
- Frost Advisory ×4
- Flood Watch ×3
- Special Weather Statement ×3
Hardest-hit cities in Calhoun County
Where this event is concentrated across the county's towns and townships.
- Battle Creekno outage reported
Historical reliability
In 2025, the average customer in Calhoun County went about 21.0 hours without power. Peak simultaneous outage on record reached 30,725 customers.
The US EIA reports Michigan utilities averaged 10.1 hrs without power per customer (SAIDI) in 2025, a cross-check on our county estimate of 21.0 hrs.
Worst year here was 2020 (peak 30,725 customers out) · decade average 10.2 hrs without power per customer/yr.
| Year | Outage events | Peak customers out | Avg hrs/customer |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | 711 | 6,334 | 2.8 |
| 2016 | 448 | 5,653 | 2.2 |
| 2017 | 690 | 8,967 | 5.0 |
| 2018 | 814 | 5,572 | 3.3 |
| 2019 | 880 | 5,708 | 4.9 |
| 2020 | 804 | 30,725 | 23.7 |
| 2021 | 821 | 8,842 | 11.2 |
| 2022 | 766 | 21,753 | 14.8 |
| 2023 | 770 | 25,676 | 17.7 |
| 2024 | 794 | 10,575 | 6.0 |
| 2025 | 770 | 21,889 | 21.0 |
Cost of power in Calhoun County
ENERGY & AI DEMAND →Estimated residential electricity price for Calhoun County, customer-weighted across the utilities serving it (US EIA, 2025). Retail prices aren't published at the county level; this is a derived estimate.
- Consumers Energy Co - (MI)20.7¢1,662,741 cust
Weighted by each utility's residential customer count (utilities report customers at the state level; a per-county share isn't published). Rising retail prices track a national demand surge; see energy & the data-center boom. What that adds up to each month, by state and utility: average electric bill.
Relatively High high winds exposure · 10.2 hrs/yr of outages over the last decade.
Power outages in Calhoun County: FAQ
- How often does Calhoun County, MI lose power?
- Based on EAGLE-I records, Calhoun County, MI logged 770 distinct outage events in 2025, averaging about 21.0 hours without power per customer over the year.
- What was the worst power outage in Calhoun County, MI?
- The largest tracked outage peaked at 30,725 customers without power, beginning June 9, 2020 and lasting about 6d 17h.
- Is there a power outage in Calhoun County, MI right now?
- None reported. Consumers Energy Co - (MI) has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for City of Marshall - (MI).
- Which utilities serve Calhoun County, MI?
- Tracked electric providers include Consumers Energy Co - (MI).
Battle Creek. Outage counts for these communities are reported at the Calhoun County level shown above.
Outages are tracked at the county level; these ZIP codes fall within Calhoun County.
49011, 49014, 49015, 49017, 49029, 49033, 49037, 49051, 49068, 49092, 49224, 49245
Electric providers serving this county
From EIA-861 service territory, with official reliability where reported. Territory is filed by county, so these are the utilities with lines anywhere in Calhoun County, not the one at a given address. All electric companies in Michigan →
| Provider | Official SAIDI (EIA) | Live | Report outage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Consumers Energy Co - (MI) | 13.7 hrs | Outages only | - |
| City of Marshall - (MI) | - | No live feed | - |
Data from DOE/ORNL ODIN, DOE EAGLE-I, EIA Form 861 (utility reliability), EIA electricity retail prices and FEMA National Risk Index, every source we read. Historical figures derive from the DOE/ORNL EAGLE-I dataset (EAGLE-I tracked roughly 0% of Michigan customers). Machine-readable data: /api/v1/counties/26025 and /api/v1/counties/26025/history.