Power Outages in Putnam County, IN
Is there a power outage in Putnam County, IN right now? None reported. As of October 20, 2026 04:25 UTC, no outages are reported by Duke Energy Indiana, LLC, Hendricks County Rural E M C and Parke County Rural E M C in Putnam County, IN. South Central Indiana REMC has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for Town of Bainbridge - (IN).
Putnam County, IN is served by 7 tracked utilities. In 2025, the average customer here lost power for about 4.8 hours.
Cite this data
- URL
- https://massoutage.com/indiana/putnam-county
- As of
- October 20, 2026 04:25 UTC
- Publisher
- MassOutage
MassOutage, "Power Outages in Putnam County, IN", live data as of October 20, 2026 04:25 UTC. https://massoutage.com/indiana/putnam-county
No active outages are reported by Duke Energy Indiana, LLC, Hendricks County Rural E M C and Parke County Rural E M C in Putnam County.
South Central Indiana REMC only appearsin feeds while reporting outages, so no report isn't a confirmed all-clear.
No live feed for Town of Bainbridge - (IN): outages in itsservice area won't show here.
Report an outage in Putnam County, IN
Report it to your electric utility; MassOutage can't take reports. For a downed line, stay at least 35 feet away and call 911.
No outage contact on file for Duke Energy Indiana, LLC, AES Indiana, Utilities Dist-Western IN REMC, South Central Indiana REMC, Hendricks County Rural E M C, Parke County Rural E M C and 1 more; check your electric bill or the utility's website.
84%of this county's ~21,769 customers are served by utilities with a county-level live feed.
We can't see outages for: Town of Bainbridge - (IN). Their customers are not in any number on this page; check their own outage maps.
Only visible while reporting outages: South Central Indiana REMC. Zero here is not a confirmed all-clear.
| Utility | Feed | Out | Served | % out | Small outages | Incidents | Utility ETR | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Duke Energy Indiana, LLC | Live · county | 0 | 10,144 | 0.0% | - | - | - | |
| Hendricks County Rural E M C | Live · county | 0 | 4,599 | 0.0% | - | - | - | |
| Parke County Rural E M C | Live · county | 0 | 3,595 | 0.0% | - | - | - | |
| AES Indiana | Live · county | no county report | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| South Central Indiana REMC | Outages only | none reported | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Utilities Dist-Western IN REMC | Live · county | no county report | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Town of Bainbridge - (IN) | No live feed | can't see | - | - | - | - | - | - |
Duke Energy Indiana, LLC, Hendricks County Rural E M C and Parke County Rural E M C reportevery town in the county on each poll, so 0 out is a real all-clear. ETRs are the utility's own estimates.
Electricity-dependent residents
HHS emPOWER · data October 7, 2026Medicare beneficiaries in Putnam Countywho rely on electricity-dependent medical equipment (ventilators, oxygen concentrators, home dialysis, powered wheelchairs, and more). HHS reports counts of 1–10 as “≤11”. Medicare only, so the full at-risk population is larger.
By ZIP code (7)
| ZIP | Power-dependent | Ventilators | O2 concentrators | Home dialysis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 46135 | 206 | ≤11 | 168 | ≤11 |
| 46120 | 95 | ≤11 | 77 | ≤11 |
| 46172 | 33 | ≤11 | 25 | ≤11 |
| 46171 | 30 | ≤11 | 24 | ≤11 |
| 46105 | 28 | 0 | 25 | 0 |
| 46128 | 24 | 0 | 16 | ≤11 |
| 46175 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
Emergency managers can request identified beneficiary lists through their state health department via the HHS emPOWER program.
Outage began, grew, restoration estimate changed, restored: by email, Slack, Teams, Discord or signed webhook, for Putnam County or any town and utility in it.
No active NWS alerts for Putnam County right now.
Putnam County has been under 15 National Weather Service alerts recently, most recently a Frost Advisory on October 19, 2026.
- Special Weather Statement ×6
- Frost Advisory ×4
- Flood Watch ×3
- Flood Advisory ×2
Latest Putnam County, IN outage updates
A running log of how this outage has changed, updated automatically as utilities report in.
- RESOLVED
Power restored after 3h 55m
- IMPROVING
Improving: down to 199 customers out
- GREW
Outage grew to 540 customers out (2.9% of the county)
- OUTAGE BEGAN
Outage began: 194 customers out (1.1% of the county)
- RESOLVED
Power restored after 10m
- OUTAGE BEGAN
Outage began: 1,140 customers out (6.7% of the county)
Hardest-hit cities in Putnam County
Where this event is concentrated across the county's towns and townships.
Historical reliability
In 2025, the average customer in Putnam County went about 4.8 hours without power. Peak simultaneous outage on record reached 9,273 customers.
The US EIA reports Indiana utilities averaged 5.8 hrs without power per customer (SAIDI) in 2025, a cross-check on our county estimate of 4.8 hrs.
Worst year here was 2023 (peak 9,273 customers out) · decade average 4.8 hrs without power per customer/yr.
| Year | Outage events | Peak customers out | Avg hrs/customer |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | 323 | 1,733 | 1.0 |
| 2016 | 331 | 1,685 | 1.8 |
| 2017 | 330 | 3,033 | 1.9 |
| 2018 | 265 | 1,252 | 1.5 |
| 2019 | 338 | 1,960 | 3.2 |
| 2020 | 553 | 2,445 | 4.5 |
| 2021 | 656 | 2,678 | 6.4 |
| 2022 | 638 | 1,968 | 4.1 |
| 2023 | 513 | 9,273 | 21.3 |
| 2024 | 528 | 1,928 | 2.6 |
| 2025 | 514 | 6,808 | 4.8 |
Cost of power in Putnam County
ENERGY & AI DEMAND →Estimated residential electricity price for Putnam County, customer-weighted across the utilities serving it (US EIA, 2025). Retail prices aren't published at the county level; this is a derived estimate.
- Duke Energy Indiana, LLC15.0¢808,572 cust
- AES Indiana14.7¢469,634 cust
- Hendricks County Rural E M C13.7¢38,554 cust
- South Central Indiana REMC17.5¢35,216 cust
- Utilities Dist-Western IN REMC15.7¢19,049 cust
Weighted by each utility's residential customer count (utilities report customers at the state level; a per-county share isn't published). Rising retail prices track a national demand surge; see energy & the data-center boom. What that adds up to each month, by state and utility: average electric bill.
Relatively Moderate high winds exposure · 4.8 hrs/yr of outages over the last decade.
Power outages in Putnam County: FAQ
- How often does Putnam County, IN lose power?
- Based on EAGLE-I records, Putnam County, IN logged 514 distinct outage events in 2025, averaging about 4.8 hours without power per customer over the year.
- What was the worst power outage in Putnam County, IN?
- The largest tracked outage peaked at 9,273 customers without power, beginning June 29, 2023 and lasting about 10d 19h.
- Is there a power outage in Putnam County, IN right now?
- None reported. As of October 20, 2026 04:25 UTC, no outages are reported by Duke Energy Indiana, LLC, Hendricks County Rural E M C and Parke County Rural E M C in Putnam County, IN. South Central Indiana REMC has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for Town of Bainbridge - (IN).
- Which utilities serve Putnam County, IN?
- Tracked electric providers include AES Indiana, Duke Energy Indiana, LLC, Hendricks County Rural E M C, Parke County Rural E M C, South Central Indiana REMC.
Outages are tracked at the county level; these ZIP codes fall within Putnam County.
46105, 46120, 46128, 46135, 46170, 46171, 46172, 46175
Electric providers serving this county
From EIA-861 service territory, with official reliability where reported. Territory is filed by county, so these are the utilities with lines anywhere in Putnam County, not the one at a given address. All electric companies in Indiana →
| Provider | Official SAIDI (EIA) | Live | Report outage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Duke Energy Indiana, LLC | 4.4 hrs | Live · county | - |
| AES Indiana | 4.9 hrs | Live · county | - |
| Utilities Dist-Western IN REMC | 12.7 hrs | Live · county | - |
| South Central Indiana REMC | 19.9 hrs | Outages only | - |
| Hendricks County Rural E M C | 2.8 hrs | Live · county | - |
| Parke County Rural E M C | - | Live · county | - |
| Town of Bainbridge - (IN) | - | No live feed | - |
Data from DOE/ORNL ODIN, DOE EAGLE-I, EIA Form 861 (utility reliability), EIA electricity retail prices and FEMA National Risk Index, every source we read. Historical figures derive from the DOE/ORNL EAGLE-I dataset (EAGLE-I tracked roughly 0% of Indiana customers). Machine-readable data: /api/v1/counties/18133 and /api/v1/counties/18133/history.