massoutage

Power Outages in Clay County, IN

Is there a power outage in Clay County, IN right now? None reported. As of October 19, 2026 16:05 UTC, no outages are reported by Duke Energy Indiana, LLC, Parke County Rural E M C and Utilities Dist-Western IN REMC in Clay County, IN. South Central Indiana REMC has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for Western Indiana Energy REMC.

Clay County, IN is served by 5 tracked utilities. In 2025, the average customer here lost power for about 8.4 hours.

Cite this data
URL
https://massoutage.com/indiana/clay-county
As of
October 19, 2026 16:05 UTC
Publisher
MassOutage

MassOutage, "Power Outages in Clay County, IN", live data as of October 19, 2026 16:05 UTC. https://massoutage.com/indiana/clay-county

Alert me
Clay County, IN
Loading map…
This county Loading live outagesout
No outages reported

No active outages are reported by Duke Energy Indiana, LLC, Parke County Rural E M C and Utilities Dist-Western IN REMC in Clay County.

South Central Indiana REMC only appearsin feeds while reporting outages, so no report isn't a confirmed all-clear.

No live feed for Western Indiana Energy REMC: outages in itsservice area won't show here.

Report an outage in Clay County, IN

Report it to your electric utility; MassOutage can't take reports. For a downed line, stay at least 35 feet away and call 911.

No outage contact on file for Duke Energy Indiana, LLC, Utilities Dist-Western IN REMC, Western Indiana Energy REMC, South Central Indiana REMC and Parke County Rural E M C; check your electric bill or the utility's website.

Not sure which utility serves you? →

Live status by utility · Clay County

83%of this county's ~14,626 customers are served by utilities with a county-level live feed.

Blind spots

We can't see outages for: Western Indiana Energy REMC. Their customers are not in any number on this page; check their own outage maps.

Only visible while reporting outages: South Central Indiana REMC. Zero here is not a confirmed all-clear.

UtilityFeedOutServed% outSmall outagesIncidentsUtility ETRAs of
Duke Energy Indiana, LLCLive · county011,3340.0%---
Parke County Rural E M CLive · county08590.0%---
Utilities Dist-Western IN REMCLive · county080.0%---
South Central Indiana REMCOutages onlynone reported------
Western Indiana Energy REMCNo live feedcan't see------

Duke Energy Indiana, LLC, Parke County Rural E M C and Utilities Dist-Western IN REMC reportevery town in the county on each poll, so 0 out is a real all-clear. ETRs are the utility's own estimates.

Electricity-dependent residents

HHS emPOWER · data October 7, 2026

Medicare beneficiaries in Clay Countywho rely on electricity-dependent medical equipment (ventilators, oxygen concentrators, home dialysis, powered wheelchairs, and more). HHS reports counts of 1–10 as “≤11”. Medicare only, so the full at-risk population is larger.

Power-dependent
479
Oxygen service
182
Dialysis (facility)
69
Home health / hospice
101
By ZIP code (11)
ZIPPower-dependentVentilatorsO2 concentratorsHome dialysis
4783431312250≤11
4743877≤1166≤11
4784139≤11350
4784015≤1113≤11
4785813≤11120
4783313≤11≤11≤11
47881≤11≤11≤110
47857≤110≤110
47853≤110≤110
47846≤11≤11≤110
47845≤110≤110

Emergency managers can request identified beneficiary lists through their state health department via the HHS emPOWER program.

🔔 Alerts for Clay County, IN

Outage began, grew, restoration estimate changed, restored: by email, Slack, Teams, Discord or signed webhook, for Clay County or any town and utility in it.

◢ ACTIVE WEATHER ALERTS · NWS

No active NWS alerts for Clay County right now.

Recent NWS alert activity · Clay County

Clay County has been under 13 National Weather Service alerts recently, most recently a Frost Advisory on October 19, 2026.

  • Special Weather Statement ×8
  • Frost Advisory ×4
  • Flood Advisory ×1

Latest Clay County, IN outage updates

A running log of how this outage has changed, updated automatically as utilities report in.

  1. RESOLVED

    Power restored after 2h 20m

  2. OUTAGE BEGAN

    Outage began: 235 customers out (1.8% of the county)

  3. RESOLVED

    Power restored after 1h 29m

  4. OUTAGE BEGAN

    Outage began: 164 customers out (1.2% of the county)

Outage trend · Clay County, IN
0customers out · peak 16
Data as of Oct 19, 2026 16:00 UTC
Clay County, IN: customers without power, last 24 hoursPeak 16 customers out; latest 0 as of Oct 19, 2026 16:00 UTC. Each point is the highest reading in its interval.051015206 PMOct 196 AM12 PM
Use the arrow keys to read values.
Times in EDT. Shaded stretches had no reading.

Hardest-hit cities in Clay County

Where this event is concentrated across the county's towns and townships.

No cities on file for this county

Historical reliability

In 2025, the average customer in Clay County went about 8.4 hours without power. Peak simultaneous outage on record reached 10,399 customers.

Official state benchmark (EIA 2025)Source: US EIA

The US EIA reports Indiana utilities averaged 5.8 hrs without power per customer (SAIDI) in 2025, a cross-check on our county estimate of 8.4 hrs.

A decade of outages (2015–2025)
avg hrs without power / customer
Clay County average outage hours per customer by year2015–2025: 2015 1.6h, 2016 4.5h, 2017 3.2h, 2018 3.4h, 2019 2.8h, 2020 3.7h, 2021 2.5h, 2022 2.6h, 2023 30.6h, 2024 11.7h, 2025 8.4h. Highlighted: 2023.0102030401.6h20154.5h20163.2h20173.4h20182.8h20193.7h20202.5h20212.6h202230.6h202311.7h20248.4h2025
Use the arrow keys to read values.

Worst year here was 2023 (peak 10,399 customers out) · decade average 6.8 hrs without power per customer/yr.

YearOutage eventsPeak customers outAvg hrs/customer
20153941,8501.6
20163694,7744.5
20173891,9323.2
20183152,7253.4
20193712,5432.8
20202612,2473.7
20213421,5442.5
20223931,5182.6
202342910,39930.6
20244214,20311.7
20254953,0158.4

Cost of power in Clay County

ENERGY & AI DEMAND →

Estimated residential electricity price for Clay County, customer-weighted across the utilities serving it (US EIA, 2025). Retail prices aren't published at the county level; this is a derived estimate.

15.2¢/kWh
estimated residential average
▲ 32% since 2015
vs Indiana avg 16.7¢
vs US avg 20.0¢
BY UTILITY · RESIDENTIAL ¢/kWh

Weighted by each utility's residential customer count (utilities report customers at the state level; a per-county share isn't published). Rising retail prices track a national demand surge; see energy & the data-center boom. What that adds up to each month, by state and utility: average electric bill.

Worst recorded outages
STARTEDPEAK OUTDURATION
June 29, 202310,3997d 23h
June 24, 20164,7741h 30m
June 25, 20244,2037d 16h
June 15, 20163,7873h 30m
August 30, 20163,5806h 15m
See the biggest power outages in US history →
Natural hazards & outage risk
ELEVATED

Relatively Moderate high winds exposure · 6.8 hrs/yr of outages over the last decade.

Strong windRelatively Moderate
All hazard rankings →

Power outages in Clay County: FAQ

How often does Clay County, IN lose power?
Based on EAGLE-I records, Clay County, IN logged 495 distinct outage events in 2025, averaging about 8.4 hours without power per customer over the year.
What was the worst power outage in Clay County, IN?
The largest tracked outage peaked at 10,399 customers without power, beginning June 29, 2023 and lasting about 7d 23h.
Is there a power outage in Clay County, IN right now?
None reported. As of October 19, 2026 16:05 UTC, no outages are reported by Duke Energy Indiana, LLC, Parke County Rural E M C and Utilities Dist-Western IN REMC in Clay County, IN. South Central Indiana REMC has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for Western Indiana Energy REMC.
Which utilities serve Clay County, IN?
Tracked electric providers include Duke Energy Indiana, LLC, Parke County Rural E M C.
ZIP codes in Clay County

Outages are tracked at the county level; these ZIP codes fall within Clay County.

47833, 47834, 47840, 47841, 47845, 47846, 47853, 47857, 47858, 47881

Electric providers serving this county

From EIA-861 service territory, with official reliability where reported. Territory is filed by county, so these are the utilities with lines anywhere in Clay County, not the one at a given address. All electric companies in Indiana →

ProviderOfficial SAIDI (EIA)LiveReport outage
Duke Energy Indiana, LLC4.4 hrsLive · county-
Utilities Dist-Western IN REMC12.7 hrsLive · county-
Western Indiana Energy REMC6.8 hrsNo live feed-
South Central Indiana REMC19.9 hrsOutages only-
Parke County Rural E M C-Live · county-

Data from DOE/ORNL ODIN, DOE EAGLE-I, EIA Form 861 (utility reliability), EIA electricity retail prices and FEMA National Risk Index, every source we read. Historical figures derive from the DOE/ORNL EAGLE-I dataset (EAGLE-I tracked roughly 0% of Indiana customers). Machine-readable data: /api/v1/counties/18021 and /api/v1/counties/18021/history.