massoutage

Power Outages in Douglas County, WI

Is there a power outage in Douglas County, WI right now? None reported. As of October 19, 2026 22:50 UTC, no outages are reported by East Central Energy in Douglas County, WI. ALLETE, Inc. has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for Bayfield Electric Coop, Inc, Dahlberg Light & Power Co and Superior Water and Light Co.

Douglas County, WI is served by 5 tracked utilities. In 2025, the average customer here lost power for about 1.4 hours.

Cite this data
URL
https://massoutage.com/wisconsin/douglas-county
As of
October 19, 2026 22:50 UTC
Publisher
MassOutage

MassOutage, "Power Outages in Douglas County, WI", live data as of October 19, 2026 22:50 UTC. https://massoutage.com/wisconsin/douglas-county

Alert me
Douglas County, WI
Loading map…
This county Loading live outagesout
No outages reported

No active outages are reported by East Central Energy in Douglas County.

ALLETE, Inc. only appearsin feeds while reporting outages, so no report isn't a confirmed all-clear.

No live feed for Bayfield Electric Coop, Inc, Dahlberg Light & Power Co and Superior Water and Light Co: outages in theirservice area won't show here.

Report an outage in Douglas County, WI

Report it to your electric utility; MassOutage can't take reports. For a downed line, stay at least 35 feet away and call 911.

No outage contact on file for ALLETE, Inc., East Central Energy, Superior Water and Light Co, Bayfield Electric Coop, Inc and Dahlberg Light & Power Co; check your electric bill or the utility's website.

Not sure which utility serves you? →

Live status by utility · Douglas County

16%of this county's ~29,669 customers are served by utilities with a county-level live feed.

Blind spots

We can't see outages for: Bayfield Electric Coop, Inc, Dahlberg Light & Power Co, Superior Water and Light Co. Their customers are not in any number on this page; check their own outage maps.

Only visible while reporting outages: ALLETE, Inc.. Zero here is not a confirmed all-clear.

UtilityFeedOutServed% outSmall outagesIncidentsUtility ETRAs of
East Central EnergyLive · county04,8510.0%---
ALLETE, Inc.Outages onlynone reported------
Bayfield Electric Coop, IncNo live feedcan't see------
Dahlberg Light & Power CoNo live feedcan't see------
Superior Water and Light CoNo live feedcan't see------

East Central Energy reportsevery town in the county on each poll, so 0 out is a real all-clear. ETRs are the utility's own estimates.

Electricity-dependent residents

HHS emPOWER · data October 7, 2026

Medicare beneficiaries in Douglas Countywho rely on electricity-dependent medical equipment (ventilators, oxygen concentrators, home dialysis, powered wheelchairs, and more). HHS reports counts of 1–10 as “≤11”. Medicare only, so the full at-risk population is larger.

Power-dependent
480
Oxygen service
150
Dialysis (facility)
66
Home health / hospice
58
By ZIP code (10)
ZIPPower-dependentVentilatorsO2 concentratorsHome dialysis
54880301≤112200
5487334≤11250
54874280190
5484921≤11120
5483818≤11130
54820120≤110
54890≤110≤110
54864≤110≤110
54854≤11≤11≤110
54836≤110≤110

Emergency managers can request identified beneficiary lists through their state health department via the HHS emPOWER program.

🔔 Alerts for Douglas County, WI

Outage began, grew, restoration estimate changed, restored: by email, Slack, Teams, Discord or signed webhook, for Douglas County or any town and utility in it.

◢ ACTIVE WEATHER ALERTS · NWS

No active NWS alerts for Douglas County right now.

Recent NWS alert activity · Douglas County

Douglas County has been under 24 National Weather Service alerts recently, most recently a Frost Advisory on October 5, 2026.

  • Beach Hazards Statement ×11
  • Frost Advisory ×9
  • Dense Fog Advisory ×4
Outage trend · Douglas County, WI
0customers out · peak 6
Data as of Oct 19, 2026 22:50 UTC
Douglas County, WI: customers without power, last 24 hoursPeak 6 customers out; latest 0 as of Oct 19, 2026 22:50 UTC. Each point is the highest reading in its interval.0246Oct 196 AM12 PM6 PM
Use the arrow keys to read values.
Times in EDT. Shaded stretches had no reading.

Hardest-hit cities in Douglas County

Where this event is concentrated across the county's towns and townships.

No cities on file for this county

Historical reliability

In 2025, the average customer in Douglas County went about 1.4 hours without power. Peak simultaneous outage on record reached 6,682 customers.

Official state benchmark (EIA 2025)Source: US EIA

The US EIA reports Wisconsin utilities averaged 4.4 hrs without power per customer (SAIDI) in 2025, a cross-check on our county estimate of 1.4 hrs.

A decade of outages (2015–2025)
avg hrs without power / customer
Douglas County average outage hours per customer by year2015–2025: 2015 0.4h, 2016 0.3h, 2017 0.3h, 2018 0.3h, 2019 0.5h, 2020 1.3h, 2021 0.6h, 2022 4.5h, 2023 1.3h, 2024 0.8h, 2025 1.4h. Highlighted: 2022.02460.4h20150.3h20160.3h20170.3h20180.5h20191.3h20200.6h20214.5h20221.3h20230.8h20241.4h2025
Use the arrow keys to read values.

Worst year here was 2022 (peak 6,682 customers out) · decade average 1.1 hrs without power per customer/yr.

YearOutage eventsPeak customers outAvg hrs/customer
2015751,4020.4
2016908070.3
20171368540.3
20181461,3810.3
20191621,8190.5
20203501,9731.3
20214981,4060.6
20225306,6824.5
20235753,9351.3
20245021,9520.8
20255303,9131.4

Cost of power in Douglas County

ENERGY & AI DEMAND →

Estimated residential electricity price for Douglas County, customer-weighted across the utilities serving it (US EIA, 2025). Retail prices aren't published at the county level; this is a derived estimate.

15.0¢/kWh
estimated residential average
▲ 22% since 2015
vs Wisconsin avg 19.1¢
vs US avg 20.0¢
BY UTILITY · RESIDENTIAL ¢/kWh

Weighted by each utility's residential customer count (utilities report customers at the state level; a per-county share isn't published). Rising retail prices track a national demand surge; see energy & the data-center boom. What that adds up to each month, by state and utility: average electric bill.

Worst recorded outages
STARTEDPEAK OUTDURATION
December 14, 20226,6824d 6h
June 14, 20233,9355h 15m
August 8, 20233,9314h 30m
January 22, 20253,91315m
January 22, 20253,91315m
See the biggest power outages in US history →
Natural hazards & outage risk
MODERATE

Relatively Low high winds exposure · 1.1 hrs/yr of outages over the last decade.

HurricaneNot Applicable
TornadoRelatively Low
Ice stormVery Low
Strong windRelatively Low
WildfireVery Low
All hazard rankings →

Power outages in Douglas County: FAQ

How often does Douglas County, WI lose power?
Based on EAGLE-I records, Douglas County, WI logged 530 distinct outage events in 2025, averaging about 1.4 hours without power per customer over the year.
What was the worst power outage in Douglas County, WI?
The largest tracked outage peaked at 6,682 customers without power, beginning December 14, 2022 and lasting about 4d 6h.
Is there a power outage in Douglas County, WI right now?
None reported. As of October 19, 2026 22:50 UTC, no outages are reported by East Central Energy in Douglas County, WI. ALLETE, Inc. has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for Bayfield Electric Coop, Inc, Dahlberg Light & Power Co and Superior Water and Light Co.
Which utilities serve Douglas County, WI?
Tracked electric providers include ALLETE, Inc., East Central Energy.
ZIP codes in Douglas County

Outages are tracked at the county level; these ZIP codes fall within Douglas County.

54820, 54836, 54838, 54842, 54849, 54854, 54864, 54873, 54874, 54880

Electric providers serving this county

From EIA-861 service territory, with official reliability where reported. Territory is filed by county, so these are the utilities with lines anywhere in Douglas County, not the one at a given address. All electric companies in Wisconsin →

ProviderOfficial SAIDI (EIA)LiveReport outage
ALLETE, Inc.2.4 hrsOutages only-
East Central Energy1.6 hrsLive · county-
Superior Water and Light Co0.4 hrsNo live feed-
Bayfield Electric Coop, Inc-No live feed-
Dahlberg Light & Power Co-No live feed-

Data from DOE/ORNL ODIN, DOE EAGLE-I, EIA Form 861 (utility reliability), EIA electricity retail prices and FEMA National Risk Index, every source we read. Historical figures derive from the DOE/ORNL EAGLE-I dataset (EAGLE-I tracked roughly 0% of Wisconsin customers). Machine-readable data: /api/v1/counties/55031 and /api/v1/counties/55031/history.