Power Outages in Granville County, NC
Is there a power outage in Granville County, NC right now? None reported. As of October 19, 2026 15:10 UTC, no outages are reported by Wake Electric Membership Corp, Virginia Electric & Power Co, Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative, Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC and Duke Energy Progress - (NC) in Granville County, NC. Piedmont Electric Member Corp has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear.
Granville County, NC is served by 6 tracked utilities. In 2025, the average customer here lost power for about 1.4 hours.
Cite this data
- URL
- https://massoutage.com/north-carolina/granville-county
- As of
- October 19, 2026 15:10 UTC
- Publisher
- MassOutage
MassOutage, "Power Outages in Granville County, NC", live data as of October 19, 2026 15:10 UTC. https://massoutage.com/north-carolina/granville-county
No active outages are reported by Wake Electric Membership Corp, Virginia Electric & Power Co, Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative, Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC and Duke Energy Progress - (NC) in Granville County.
Piedmont Electric Member Corp only appearsin feeds while reporting outages, so no report isn't a confirmed all-clear.
Report an outage in Granville County, NC
Report it to your electric utility; MassOutage can't take reports. For a downed line, stay at least 35 feet away and call 911.
No outage contact on file for Duke Energy Progress - (NC), Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC, Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative, Piedmont Electric Member Corp and Wake Electric Membership Corp; check your electric bill or the utility's website.
8.9%of this county's ~96,461 customers are served by utilities with a county-level live feed.
Only visible while reporting outages: Piedmont Electric Member Corp. Zero here is not a confirmed all-clear.
| Utility | Feed | Out | Served | % out | Small outages | Incidents | Utility ETR | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wake Electric Membership Corp | Live · county | 0 | 8,480 | 0.0% | - | - | - | |
| Virginia Electric & Power Co | Live · county | 0 | 109 | 0.0% | - | 0 | - | |
| Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative | Live · county | 0 | 4 | 0.0% | - | - | - | |
| Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC | Live · county | 0 | - | - | - | - | - | |
| Duke Energy Progress - (NC) | Live · county | 0 | - | - | - | - | - | |
| Piedmont Electric Member Corp | Outages only | none reported | - | - | - | - | - | - |
Wake Electric Membership Corp, Virginia Electric & Power Co, Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative, Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC and Duke Energy Progress - (NC) reportevery town in the county on each poll, so 0 out is a real all-clear. ETRs are the utility's own estimates.
Electricity-dependent residents
HHS emPOWER · data October 7, 2026Medicare beneficiaries in Granville Countywho rely on electricity-dependent medical equipment (ventilators, oxygen concentrators, home dialysis, powered wheelchairs, and more). HHS reports counts of 1–10 as “≤11”. Medicare only, so the full at-risk population is larger.
By ZIP code (5)
| ZIP | Power-dependent | Ventilators | O2 concentrators | Home dialysis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 27565 | 266 | ≤11 | 178 | ≤11 |
| 27522 | 101 | ≤11 | 69 | ≤11 |
| 27509 | 38 | 0 | 28 | 0 |
| 27581 | 36 | 0 | 28 | 0 |
| 27507 | 25 | 0 | 23 | 0 |
Emergency managers can request identified beneficiary lists through their state health department via the HHS emPOWER program.
Outage began, grew, restoration estimate changed, restored: by email, Slack, Teams, Discord or signed webhook, for Granville County or any town and utility in it.
No active NWS alerts for Granville County right now.
Granville County has been under 15 National Weather Service alerts recently, most recently a Severe Thunderstorm Warning on October 11, 2026.
- Flood Advisory ×5
- Special Weather Statement ×4
- Severe Thunderstorm Warning ×3
- Tornado Watch ×2
- Tornado Warning ×1
Latest Granville County, NC outage updates
A running log of how this outage has changed, updated automatically as utilities report in.
- RESOLVED
Power restored after 23m
- OUTAGE BEGAN
Outage began: 140 customers out (1.4% of the county)
- RESOLVED
Power restored after 1h 25m
- OUTAGE BEGAN
Outage began: 435 customers out (4.4% of the county)
- RESOLVED
Power restored after 1h 50m
- OUTAGE BEGAN
Outage began: 105 customers out (1.1% of the county)
- RESOLVED
Power restored after 5h
- OUTAGE BEGAN
Outage began: 130 customers out (1.3% of the county)
Hardest-hit cities in Granville County
Where this event is concentrated across the county's towns and townships.
Historical reliability
In 2025, the average customer in Granville County went about 1.4 hours without power. Peak simultaneous outage on record reached 11,070 customers.
The US EIA reports North Carolina utilities averaged 3.3 hrs without power per customer (SAIDI) in 2025, a cross-check on our county estimate of 1.4 hrs.
Worst year here was 2018 (peak 10,204 customers out) · decade average 2.1 hrs without power per customer/yr.
| Year | Outage events | Peak customers out | Avg hrs/customer |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | 457 | 4,176 | 1.5 |
| 2016 | 511 | 7,916 | 1.8 |
| 2017 | 462 | 1,251 | 0.6 |
| 2018 | 482 | 10,204 | 5.0 |
| 2019 | 540 | 4,061 | 1.2 |
| 2020 | 603 | 6,080 | 1.3 |
| 2021 | 642 | 6,382 | 4.1 |
| 2022 | 684 | 6,189 | 3.2 |
| 2023 | 669 | 3,905 | 1.6 |
| 2024 | 636 | 5,981 | 1.6 |
| 2025 | 588 | 11,070 | 1.4 |
Cost of power in Granville County
ENERGY & AI DEMAND →Estimated residential electricity price for Granville County, customer-weighted across the utilities serving it (US EIA, 2025). Retail prices aren't published at the county level; this is a derived estimate.
- Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC13.4¢1,961,108 cust
- Duke Energy Progress - (NC)15.2¢1,383,941 cust
- Virginia Electric & Power Co12.7¢109,057 cust
- Wake Electric Membership Corp14.3¢56,069 cust
- Piedmont Electric Member Corp15.6¢30,640 cust
- Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative13.9¢138 cust
Weighted by each utility's residential customer count (utilities report customers at the state level; a per-county share isn't published). Rising retail prices track a national demand surge; see energy & the data-center boom. What that adds up to each month, by state and utility: average electric bill.
Relatively Moderate hurricanes exposure · 2.1 hrs/yr of outages over the last decade.
FEMA rates this county’s social vulnerability relatively moderate: outages hit harder where communities are less able to respond and recover.
All hazard rankings →Power outages in Granville County: FAQ
- How often does Granville County, NC lose power?
- Based on EAGLE-I records, Granville County, NC logged 588 distinct outage events in 2025, averaging about 1.4 hours without power per customer over the year.
- What was the worst power outage in Granville County, NC?
- The largest tracked outage peaked at 11,070 customers without power, beginning October 9, 2025 and lasting about 7h 30m.
- Is there a power outage in Granville County, NC right now?
- None reported. As of October 19, 2026 15:10 UTC, no outages are reported by Wake Electric Membership Corp, Virginia Electric & Power Co, Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative, Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC and Duke Energy Progress - (NC) in Granville County, NC. Piedmont Electric Member Corp has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear.
- Which utilities serve Granville County, NC?
- Tracked electric providers include Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC, Duke Energy Progress - (NC), Piedmont Electric Member Corp, Virginia Electric & Power Co, Wake Electric Membership Corp.
Outages are tracked at the county level; these ZIP codes fall within Granville County.
27507, 27509, 27522, 27565, 27581, 27582
Electric providers serving this county
From EIA-861 service territory, with official reliability where reported. Territory is filed by county, so these are the utilities with lines anywhere in Granville County, not the one at a given address. All electric companies in North Carolina →
| Provider | Official SAIDI (EIA) | Live | Report outage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Duke Energy Progress - (NC) | 2.9 hrs | Live · county | - |
| Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC | 3.6 hrs | Live · county | - |
| Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative | 12.0 hrs | Live · county | - |
| Piedmont Electric Member Corp | 8.4 hrs | Outages only | - |
| Wake Electric Membership Corp | 3.5 hrs | Live · county | - |
| Virginia Electric & Power Co | - | Live · county | ☎ 866-366-4357Report online ↗Outage map ↗ |
Data from DOE/ORNL ODIN, DOE EAGLE-I, EIA Form 861 (utility reliability), EIA electricity retail prices and FEMA National Risk Index, every source we read. Historical figures derive from the DOE/ORNL EAGLE-I dataset (EAGLE-I tracked roughly 0% of North Carolina customers). Machine-readable data: /api/v1/counties/37077 and /api/v1/counties/37077/history.