Power Outages in Herkimer County, NY
Is there a power outage in Herkimer County, NY right now? None reported. As of October 19, 2026 15:05 UTC, no outages are reported by Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. in Herkimer County, NY. AVANGRID has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for Mohawk Municipal Comm, New York State Elec & Gas Corp, Otsego Electric Coop, Inc, Village of Frankfort - (NY) and Village of Ilion - (NY).
Herkimer County, NY is served by 7 tracked utilities. In 2025, the average customer here lost power for about 11.5 hours.
Cite this data
- URL
- https://massoutage.com/new-york/herkimer-county
- As of
- October 19, 2026 15:05 UTC
- Publisher
- MassOutage
MassOutage, "Power Outages in Herkimer County, NY", live data as of October 19, 2026 15:05 UTC. https://massoutage.com/new-york/herkimer-county
No active outages are reported by Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. in Herkimer County.
AVANGRID only appearsin feeds while reporting outages, so no report isn't a confirmed all-clear.
No live feed for Mohawk Municipal Comm, New York State Elec & Gas Corp, Otsego Electric Coop, Inc, Village of Frankfort - (NY) and Village of Ilion - (NY): outages in theirservice area won't show here.
Report an outage in Herkimer County, NY
Report it to your electric utility; MassOutage can't take reports. For a downed line, stay at least 35 feet away and call 911.
No outage contact on file for New York State Elec & Gas Corp, AVANGRID, Otsego Electric Coop, Inc, Mohawk Municipal Comm, Village of Frankfort - (NY) and Village of Ilion - (NY); check your electric bill or the utility's website.
92%of this county's ~26,689 customers are served by utilities with a county-level live feed.
We can't see outages for: Mohawk Municipal Comm, New York State Elec & Gas Corp, Otsego Electric Coop, Inc, Village of Frankfort - (NY), Village of Ilion - (NY). Their customers are not in any number on this page; check their own outage maps.
Only visible while reporting outages: AVANGRID. Zero here is not a confirmed all-clear.
| Utility | Feed | Out | Served | % out | Small outages | Incidents | Utility ETR | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | Live · county | 0 | 24,611 | 0.0% | - | 0 | - | |
| AVANGRID | Outages only | none reported | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Mohawk Municipal Comm | No live feed | can't see | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| New York State Elec & Gas Corp | No live feed | can't see | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Otsego Electric Coop, Inc | No live feed | can't see | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Village of Frankfort - (NY) | No live feed | can't see | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Village of Ilion - (NY) | No live feed | can't see | - | - | - | - | - | - |
Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. reportsevery town in the county on each poll, so 0 out is a real all-clear. ETRs are the utility's own estimates.
Municipalities in Herkimer County
Town-by-town counts as reported by Niagara Mohawk Power Corp., most affected first. A town served by more than one utility appears once per utility; utilities without a town-level feed aren't included. Updated .
| Town | Utility | Out | Served | % out | Utility ETR | Small outages |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| No outages reported in any town by Niagara Mohawk Power Corp.. | ||||||
Show 27 towns with no outages
| Cold Brook Village | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 141 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Columbia | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 278 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Danube | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 383 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Dolgeville Village | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 1,035 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Fairfield | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 529 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Frankfort | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 1,970 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Frankfort Village | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 5 | 0.0% | - | - |
| German Flatts | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 780 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Herkimer | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 1,150 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Herkimer Village | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 3,524 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Ilion Village | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 14 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Litchfield | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 671 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Little Falls | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 732 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Little Falls City | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 2,282 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Manheim | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 569 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Middleville Village | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 249 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Mohawk Village | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 2 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Newport | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 551 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Newport Village | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 353 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Norway | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 378 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Ohio | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 634 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Poland Village | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 237 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Russia | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 1,062 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Salisbury | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 989 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Schuyler | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 1,767 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Stark | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 393 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Webb | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 3,933 | 0.0% | - | - |
Active outages in Herkimer County0
No individual outages are listed by utilities with an outage-level feed right now.
Electricity-dependent residents
HHS emPOWER · data October 7, 2026Medicare beneficiaries in Herkimer Countywho rely on electricity-dependent medical equipment (ventilators, oxygen concentrators, home dialysis, powered wheelchairs, and more). HHS reports counts of 1–10 as “≤11”. Medicare only, so the full at-risk population is larger.
By ZIP code (14)
| ZIP | Power-dependent | Ventilators | O2 concentrators | Home dialysis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 13357 | 130 | ≤11 | 102 | ≤11 |
| 13350 | 119 | ≤11 | 96 | ≤11 |
| 13365 | 107 | ≤11 | 82 | ≤11 |
| 13340 | 89 | ≤11 | 76 | ≤11 |
| 13407 | 61 | ≤11 | 50 | 0 |
| 13324 | 20 | 0 | 14 | ≤11 |
| 13416 | 19 | 0 | 16 | 0 |
| 13420 | 18 | ≤11 | 12 | 0 |
| 13431 | 14 | 0 | 13 | 0 |
| 13454 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 13406 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 13361 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 13331 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 13322 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
Emergency managers can request identified beneficiary lists through their state health department via the HHS emPOWER program.
Outage began, grew, restoration estimate changed, restored: by email, Slack, Teams, Discord or signed webhook, for Herkimer County or any town and utility in it.
No active NWS alerts for Herkimer County right now.
Herkimer County has been under 2 National Weather Service alerts recently, most recently a Special Weather Statement on October 5, 2026.
- Special Weather Statement ×2
Historical reliability
In 2025, the average customer in Herkimer County went about 11.5 hours without power. Peak simultaneous outage on record reached 15,496 customers.
The US EIA reports New York utilities averaged 4.0 hrs without power per customer (SAIDI) in 2025, a cross-check on our county estimate of 11.5 hrs.
Worst year here was 2022 (peak 15,496 customers out) · decade average 10.5 hrs without power per customer/yr.
| Year | Outage events | Peak customers out | Avg hrs/customer |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | 408 | 3,660 | 5.6 |
| 2016 | 358 | 7,716 | 10.5 |
| 2017 | 348 | 3,906 | 7.7 |
| 2018 | 407 | 4,965 | 10.4 |
| 2019 | 367 | 3,826 | 10.6 |
| 2020 | 423 | 5,637 | 12.1 |
| 2021 | 399 | 5,907 | 5.6 |
| 2022 | 440 | 15,496 | 21.4 |
| 2023 | 453 | 4,003 | 4.0 |
| 2024 | 433 | 4,806 | 16.5 |
| 2025 | 416 | 4,932 | 11.5 |
Cost of power in Herkimer County
ENERGY & AI DEMAND →Estimated residential electricity price for Herkimer County, customer-weighted across the utilities serving it (US EIA, 2025). Retail prices aren't published at the county level; this is a derived estimate.
- Niagara Mohawk Power Corp.19.9¢1,449,428 cust
- New York State Elec & Gas Corp22.6¢747,709 cust
Weighted by each utility's residential customer count (utilities report customers at the state level; a per-county share isn't published). Rising retail prices track a national demand surge; see energy & the data-center boom. What that adds up to each month, by state and utility: average electric bill.
What causes outages here
Share of outage-time by reported cause, from live ODIN utility reports. Why does my power keep going out? →
Relatively Moderate ice storms exposure · 10.5 hrs/yr of outages over the last decade.
Power outages in Herkimer County: FAQ
- How often does Herkimer County, NY lose power?
- Based on EAGLE-I records, Herkimer County, NY logged 416 distinct outage events in 2025, averaging about 11.5 hours without power per customer over the year.
- What was the worst power outage in Herkimer County, NY?
- The largest tracked outage peaked at 15,496 customers without power, beginning April 18, 2022 and lasting about 4d 6h.
- Is there a power outage in Herkimer County, NY right now?
- None reported. As of October 19, 2026 15:05 UTC, no outages are reported by Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. in Herkimer County, NY. AVANGRID has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for Mohawk Municipal Comm, New York State Elec & Gas Corp, Otsego Electric Coop, Inc, Village of Frankfort - (NY) and Village of Ilion - (NY).
- Which utilities serve Herkimer County, NY?
- Tracked electric providers include AVANGRID, Niagara Mohawk Power Corp..
Outages are tracked at the county level; these ZIP codes fall within Herkimer County.
13322, 13324, 13331, 13338, 13340, 13350, 13357, 13361, 13365, 13406, 13407, 13416, 13420, 13431, 13454, 13472, 13475
Electric providers serving this county
From EIA-861 service territory, with official reliability where reported. Territory is filed by county, so these are the utilities with lines anywhere in Herkimer County, not the one at a given address. All electric companies in New York →
| Provider | Official SAIDI (EIA) | Live | Report outage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 4.0 hrs | Live · county | Outage map ↗ |
| New York State Elec & Gas Corp | - | No live feed | - |
| AVANGRID | - | Outages only | - |
| Otsego Electric Coop, Inc | - | No live feed | - |
| Mohawk Municipal Comm | - | No live feed | - |
| Village of Frankfort - (NY) | - | No live feed | - |
| Village of Ilion - (NY) | - | No live feed | - |
Data from DOE/ORNL ODIN, DOE EAGLE-I, EIA Form 861 (utility reliability), EIA electricity retail prices and FEMA National Risk Index, every source we read. Historical figures derive from the DOE/ORNL EAGLE-I dataset (EAGLE-I tracked roughly 0% of New York customers). Machine-readable data: /api/v1/counties/36043 and /api/v1/counties/36043/history.