Power Outages in Clinton County, NY
Is there a power outage in Clinton County, NY right now? None reported. As of October 19, 2026 16:55 UTC, no outages are reported by Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. in Clinton County, NY. AVANGRID has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for City of Plattsburgh - (NY), New York State Elec & Gas Corp and Village of Rouses Point - (NY).
Clinton County, NY is served by 5 tracked utilities. In 2025, the average customer here lost power for about 1.3 hours.
Cite this data
- URL
- https://massoutage.com/new-york/clinton-county
- As of
- October 19, 2026 16:55 UTC
- Publisher
- MassOutage
MassOutage, "Power Outages in Clinton County, NY", live data as of October 19, 2026 16:55 UTC. https://massoutage.com/new-york/clinton-county
No active outages are reported by Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. in Clinton County.
AVANGRID only appearsin feeds while reporting outages, so no report isn't a confirmed all-clear.
No live feed for City of Plattsburgh - (NY), New York State Elec & Gas Corp and Village of Rouses Point - (NY): outages in theirservice area won't show here.
Report an outage in Clinton County, NY
Report it to your electric utility; MassOutage can't take reports. For a downed line, stay at least 35 feet away and call 911.
No outage contact on file for New York State Elec & Gas Corp, AVANGRID, City of Plattsburgh - (NY) and Village of Rouses Point - (NY); check your electric bill or the utility's website.
2.5%of this county's ~39,905 customers are served by utilities with a county-level live feed.
We can't see outages for: City of Plattsburgh - (NY), New York State Elec & Gas Corp, Village of Rouses Point - (NY). Their customers are not in any number on this page; check their own outage maps.
Only visible while reporting outages: AVANGRID. Zero here is not a confirmed all-clear.
| Utility | Feed | Out | Served | % out | Small outages | Incidents | Utility ETR | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | Live · county | 0 | 987 | 0.0% | - | 0 | - | |
| AVANGRID | Outages only | none reported | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| City of Plattsburgh - (NY) | No live feed | can't see | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| New York State Elec & Gas Corp | No live feed | can't see | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Village of Rouses Point - (NY) | No live feed | can't see | - | - | - | - | - | - |
Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. reportsevery town in the county on each poll, so 0 out is a real all-clear. ETRs are the utility's own estimates.
Municipalities in Clinton County
Town-by-town counts as reported by Niagara Mohawk Power Corp., most affected first. A town served by more than one utility appears once per utility; utilities without a town-level feed aren't included. Updated .
| Town | Utility | Out | Served | % out | Utility ETR | Small outages |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| No outages reported in any town by Niagara Mohawk Power Corp.. | ||||||
Show 2 towns with no outages
| Black Brook | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 917 | 0.0% | - | - |
| Saranac | Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 0 | 70 | 0.0% | - | - |
Active outages in Clinton County0
No individual outages are listed by utilities with an outage-level feed right now.
Electricity-dependent residents
HHS emPOWER · data October 7, 2026Medicare beneficiaries in Clinton Countywho rely on electricity-dependent medical equipment (ventilators, oxygen concentrators, home dialysis, powered wheelchairs, and more). HHS reports counts of 1–10 as “≤11”. Medicare only, so the full at-risk population is larger.
By ZIP code (23)
| ZIP | Power-dependent | Ventilators | O2 concentrators | Home dialysis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 12901 | 343 | ≤11 | 279 | ≤11 |
| 12992 | 80 | ≤11 | 62 | ≤11 |
| 12962 | 67 | ≤11 | 51 | ≤11 |
| 12972 | 64 | ≤11 | 49 | ≤11 |
| 12979 | 39 | ≤11 | 30 | 0 |
| 12903 | 37 | ≤11 | 32 | ≤11 |
| 12910 | 33 | ≤11 | 25 | ≤11 |
| 12919 | 29 | 0 | 24 | 0 |
| 12935 | 28 | ≤11 | 23 | 0 |
| 12981 | 26 | ≤11 | 23 | 0 |
| 12921 | 26 | 0 | 23 | 0 |
| 12912 | 26 | ≤11 | 19 | ≤11 |
| 12959 | 25 | 0 | 19 | 0 |
| 12958 | 21 | 0 | 15 | ≤11 |
| 12918 | 20 | 0 | 17 | 0 |
| 12923 | 16 | 0 | 15 | 0 |
| 12985 | 15 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12934 | 13 | 0 | 12 | 0 |
| 12929 | 12 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12978 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12955 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12952 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 12924 | ≤11 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Emergency managers can request identified beneficiary lists through their state health department via the HHS emPOWER program.
Outage began, grew, restoration estimate changed, restored: by email, Slack, Teams, Discord or signed webhook, for Clinton County or any town and utility in it.
No active NWS alerts for Clinton County right now.
Clinton County has been under 12 National Weather Service alerts recently, most recently a Wind Advisory on October 16, 2026.
- Frost Advisory ×11
- Wind Advisory ×1
Latest Clinton County, NY outage updates
A running log of how this outage has changed, updated automatically as utilities report in.
- RESOLVED
Power restored after 35m
- OUTAGE BEGAN
Outage began: 481 customers out (1.1% of the county)
- RESOLVED
Power restored after 50m
- OUTAGE BEGAN
Outage began: 756 customers out (1.7% of the county)
- RESOLVED
Power restored after 20m
- OUTAGE BEGAN
Outage began: 756 customers out (1.7% of the county)
Historical reliability
In 2025, the average customer in Clinton County went about 1.3 hours without power. Peak simultaneous outage on record reached 17,251 customers.
The US EIA reports New York utilities averaged 4.0 hrs without power per customer (SAIDI) in 2025, a cross-check on our county estimate of 1.3 hrs.
Worst year here was 2018 (peak 17,251 customers out) · decade average 3.7 hrs without power per customer/yr.
| Year | Outage events | Peak customers out | Avg hrs/customer |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | 363 | 2,955 | 1.7 |
| 2016 | 311 | 3,154 | 1.8 |
| 2017 | 326 | 3,145 | 1.5 |
| 2018 | 354 | 17,251 | 15.2 |
| 2019 | 300 | 14,036 | 4.2 |
| 2020 | 389 | 2,780 | 1.6 |
| 2021 | 338 | 7,492 | 5.0 |
| 2022 | 364 | 10,957 | 4.0 |
| 2023 | 330 | 2,115 | 1.5 |
| 2024 | 300 | 3,286 | 2.6 |
| 2025 | 279 | 4,947 | 1.3 |
Cost of power in Clinton County
ENERGY & AI DEMAND →Estimated residential electricity price for Clinton County, customer-weighted across the utilities serving it (US EIA, 2025). Retail prices aren't published at the county level; this is a derived estimate.
- Niagara Mohawk Power Corp.19.9¢1,449,428 cust
- New York State Elec & Gas Corp22.6¢747,709 cust
- City of Plattsburgh - (NY)5.3¢8,809 cust
Weighted by each utility's residential customer count (utilities report customers at the state level; a per-county share isn't published). Rising retail prices track a national demand surge; see energy & the data-center boom. What that adds up to each month, by state and utility: average electric bill.
What causes outages here
Share of outage-time by reported cause, from live ODIN utility reports. Why does my power keep going out? →
Relatively High ice storms exposure · 3.7 hrs/yr of outages over the last decade.
Power outages in Clinton County: FAQ
- How often does Clinton County, NY lose power?
- Based on EAGLE-I records, Clinton County, NY logged 279 distinct outage events in 2025, averaging about 1.3 hours without power per customer over the year.
- What was the worst power outage in Clinton County, NY?
- The largest tracked outage peaked at 17,251 customers without power, beginning May 4, 2018 and lasting about 3d 5h.
- Is there a power outage in Clinton County, NY right now?
- None reported. As of October 19, 2026 16:55 UTC, no outages are reported by Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. in Clinton County, NY. AVANGRID has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for City of Plattsburgh - (NY), New York State Elec & Gas Corp and Village of Rouses Point - (NY).
- Which utilities serve Clinton County, NY?
- Tracked electric providers include AVANGRID, Niagara Mohawk Power Corp..
Outages are tracked at the county level; these ZIP codes fall within Clinton County.
12901, 12903, 12910, 12911, 12912, 12918, 12919, 12921, 12923, 12924, 12929, 12933, 12934, 12935, 12952, 12955, 12958, 12959, 12962, 12972, 12978, 12979, 12981, 12985, 12992
Electric providers serving this county
From EIA-861 service territory, with official reliability where reported. Territory is filed by county, so these are the utilities with lines anywhere in Clinton County, not the one at a given address. All electric companies in New York →
| Provider | Official SAIDI (EIA) | Live | Report outage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | 4.0 hrs | Live · county | Outage map ↗ |
| New York State Elec & Gas Corp | - | No live feed | - |
| AVANGRID | - | Outages only | - |
| City of Plattsburgh - (NY) | - | No live feed | - |
| Village of Rouses Point - (NY) | - | No live feed | - |
Data from DOE/ORNL ODIN, DOE EAGLE-I, EIA Form 861 (utility reliability), EIA electricity retail prices and FEMA National Risk Index, every source we read. Historical figures derive from the DOE/ORNL EAGLE-I dataset (EAGLE-I tracked roughly 0% of New York customers). Machine-readable data: /api/v1/counties/36019 and /api/v1/counties/36019/history.