Power Outages in Lyon County, KY
Is there a power outage in Lyon County, KY right now? None reported. As of October 20, 2026 03:35 UTC, no outages are reported by Kentucky Utilities Co, Kenergy Corp and Jackson Purchase Energy Corporation in Lyon County, KY. Pennyrile Rural Electric Coop has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear.
Lyon County, KY is served by 4 tracked utilities. In 2025, the average customer here lost power for about 13.4 hours.
Cite this data
- URL
- https://massoutage.com/kentucky/lyon-county
- As of
- October 20, 2026 03:35 UTC
- Publisher
- MassOutage
MassOutage, "Power Outages in Lyon County, KY", live data as of October 20, 2026 03:35 UTC. https://massoutage.com/kentucky/lyon-county
No active outages are reported by Kentucky Utilities Co, Kenergy Corp and Jackson Purchase Energy Corporation in Lyon County.
Pennyrile Rural Electric Coop only appearsin feeds while reporting outages, so no report isn't a confirmed all-clear.
Report an outage in Lyon County, KY
Report it to your electric utility; MassOutage can't take reports. For a downed line, stay at least 35 feet away and call 911.
No outage contact on file for Kentucky Utilities Co, Kenergy Corp and Pennyrile Rural Electric Coop; check your electric bill or the utility's website.
65%of this county's ~7,748 customers are served by utilities with a county-level live feed.
Only visible while reporting outages: Pennyrile Rural Electric Coop. Zero here is not a confirmed all-clear.
| Utility | Feed | Out | Served | % out | Small outages | Incidents | Utility ETR | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kentucky Utilities Co | Live · county | 0 | 3,078 | 0.0% | - | 0 | - | |
| Kenergy Corp | Live · county | 0 | 1,912 | 0.0% | - | - | - | |
| Jackson Purchase Energy Corporation | Live · county | 0 | 8 | 0.0% | - | - | - | |
| Pennyrile Rural Electric Coop | Outages only | none reported | - | - | - | - | - | - |
Kentucky Utilities Co, Kenergy Corp and Jackson Purchase Energy Corporation reportevery town in the county on each poll, so 0 out is a real all-clear. ETRs are the utility's own estimates.
Electricity-dependent residents
HHS emPOWER · data October 7, 2026Medicare beneficiaries in Lyon Countywho rely on electricity-dependent medical equipment (ventilators, oxygen concentrators, home dialysis, powered wheelchairs, and more). HHS reports counts of 1–10 as “≤11”. Medicare only, so the full at-risk population is larger.
By ZIP code (2)
| ZIP | Power-dependent | Ventilators | O2 concentrators | Home dialysis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 42038 | 96 | ≤11 | 80 | 0 |
| 42055 | 57 | ≤11 | 47 | 0 |
Emergency managers can request identified beneficiary lists through their state health department via the HHS emPOWER program.
Outage began, grew, restoration estimate changed, restored: by email, Slack, Teams, Discord or signed webhook, for Lyon County or any town and utility in it.
No active NWS alerts for Lyon County right now.
Lyon County has been under 15 National Weather Service alerts recently, most recently a Frost Advisory on October 18, 2026.
- Heat Advisory ×12
- Frost Advisory ×2
- Dense Fog Advisory ×1
Latest Lyon County, KY outage updates
A running log of how this outage has changed, updated automatically as utilities report in.
- RESOLVED
Power restored after 55m
- OUTAGE BEGAN
Outage began: 200 customers out (3.1% of the county)
Hardest-hit cities in Lyon County
Where this event is concentrated across the county's towns and townships.
Historical reliability
In 2025, the average customer in Lyon County went about 13.4 hours without power. Peak simultaneous outage on record reached 4,316 customers.
The US EIA reports Kentucky utilities averaged 6.6 hrs without power per customer (SAIDI) in 2025, a cross-check on our county estimate of 13.4 hrs.
Worst year here was 2024 (peak 4,316 customers out) · decade average 11.2 hrs without power per customer/yr.
| Year | Outage events | Peak customers out | Avg hrs/customer |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | 180 | 1,830 | 1.9 |
| 2016 | 198 | 1,869 | 3.0 |
| 2017 | 306 | 2,861 | 6.3 |
| 2018 | 334 | 1,939 | 6.3 |
| 2019 | 399 | 2,181 | 6.3 |
| 2020 | 266 | 2,196 | 4.3 |
| 2021 | 244 | 1,625 | 9.5 |
| 2022 | 325 | 1,949 | 10.8 |
| 2023 | 260 | 2,638 | 28.1 |
| 2024 | 366 | 4,316 | 33.0 |
| 2025 | 406 | 2,869 | 13.4 |
Cost of power in Lyon County
ENERGY & AI DEMAND →Estimated residential electricity price for Lyon County, customer-weighted across the utilities serving it (US EIA, 2025). Retail prices aren't published at the county level; this is a derived estimate.
- Kentucky Utilities Co11.9¢454,021 cust
- Kenergy Corp16.3¢47,514 cust
- Pennyrile Rural Electric Coop13.9¢40,704 cust
Weighted by each utility's residential customer count (utilities report customers at the state level; a per-county share isn't published). Rising retail prices track a national demand surge; see energy & the data-center boom. What that adds up to each month, by state and utility: average electric bill.
Relatively High ice storms exposure · 11.2 hrs/yr of outages over the last decade.
FEMA rates this county’s social vulnerability relatively high: outages hit harder where communities are less able to respond and recover.
All hazard rankings →Power outages in Lyon County: FAQ
- How often does Lyon County, KY lose power?
- Based on EAGLE-I records, Lyon County, KY logged 406 distinct outage events in 2025, averaging about 13.4 hours without power per customer over the year.
- What was the worst power outage in Lyon County, KY?
- The largest tracked outage peaked at 4,316 customers without power, beginning May 26, 2024 and lasting about 4d 3h.
- Is there a power outage in Lyon County, KY right now?
- None reported. As of October 20, 2026 03:35 UTC, no outages are reported by Kentucky Utilities Co, Kenergy Corp and Jackson Purchase Energy Corporation in Lyon County, KY. Pennyrile Rural Electric Coop has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear.
- Which utilities serve Lyon County, KY?
- Tracked electric providers include Kenergy Corp, Kentucky Utilities Co, Pennyrile Rural Electric Coop.
Outages are tracked at the county level; these ZIP codes fall within Lyon County.
42038, 42055
Electric providers serving this county
From EIA-861 service territory, with official reliability where reported. Territory is filed by county, so these are the utilities with lines anywhere in Lyon County, not the one at a given address. All electric companies in Kentucky →
| Provider | Official SAIDI (EIA) | Live | Report outage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kentucky Utilities Co | 3.4 hrs | Live · county | - |
| Kenergy Corp | 11.5 hrs | Live · county | - |
| Pennyrile Rural Electric Coop | - | Outages only | - |
Data from DOE/ORNL ODIN, DOE EAGLE-I, EIA Form 861 (utility reliability), EIA electricity retail prices and FEMA National Risk Index, every source we read. Historical figures derive from the DOE/ORNL EAGLE-I dataset (EAGLE-I tracked roughly 0% of Kentucky customers). Machine-readable data: /api/v1/counties/21143 and /api/v1/counties/21143/history.