massoutage

Power Outages in Marion County, KS

Is there a power outage in Marion County, KS right now? Yes, small ones. As of October 19, 2026 18:55 UTC, Flint Hills Rural E C A, Inc, DS&O Electric Cooperative, Inc., Evergy Kansas Central, Inc and Evergy Kansas South, Inc report only 1 small outage (below the size utilities publish exact counts for) in Marion County, KS. Butler Rural El Coop Assn, Inc - (KS) has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for City of Hillsboro - (KS) and City of Marion - (KS).

Marion County, KS is served by 8 tracked utilities. In 2025, the average customer here lost power for about 2.1 hours.

Cite this data
URL
https://massoutage.com/kansas/marion-county
As of
October 19, 2026 18:55 UTC
Publisher
MassOutage

MassOutage, "Power Outages in Marion County, KS", live data as of October 19, 2026 18:55 UTC. https://massoutage.com/kansas/marion-county

Alert me
Marion County, KS
Loading map…
This county Loading live outagesout
Only small outages reported

Flint Hills Rural E C A, Inc, DS&O Electric Cooperative, Inc., Evergy Kansas Central, Inc and Evergy Kansas South, Inc list 1 small outage in Marion County, below the size they publish exact counts for.

Butler Rural El Coop Assn, Inc - (KS) only appearsin feeds while reporting outages, so no report isn't a confirmed all-clear.

No live feed for City of Hillsboro - (KS) and City of Marion - (KS): outages in theirservice area won't show here.

Report an outage in Marion County, KS

Report it to your electric utility; MassOutage can't take reports. For a downed line, stay at least 35 feet away and call 911.

No outage contact on file for Evergy Metro, Evergy Kansas South, Inc, Flint Hills Rural E C A, Inc, DS&O Electric Cooperative, Inc., Butler Rural El Coop Assn, Inc - (KS), City of Hillsboro - (KS) and 1 more; check your electric bill or the utility's website.

Not sure which utility serves you? →

Live status by utility · Marion County

53%of this county's ~3,600 customers are served by utilities with a county-level live feed.

Blind spots

We can't see outages for: City of Hillsboro - (KS), City of Marion - (KS). Their customers are not in any number on this page; check their own outage maps.

Only visible while reporting outages: Butler Rural El Coop Assn, Inc - (KS). Zero here is not a confirmed all-clear.

UtilityFeedOutServed% outSmall outagesIncidentsUtility ETRAs of
Flint Hills Rural E C A, IncLive · county01,8530.0%---
DS&O Electric Cooperative, Inc.Live · county0630.0%---
Butler Rural El Coop Assn, Inc - (KS)Outages onlynone reported------
Evergy Kansas Central, IncLive · county0--+1 small outage (<5 each)1October 19, 2026 20:15 UTC
Evergy Kansas South, IncLive · county0---0-
Evergy MetroLive · countyno county report------
City of Hillsboro - (KS)No live feedcan't see------
City of Marion - (KS)No live feedcan't see------

Flint Hills Rural E C A, Inc, DS&O Electric Cooperative, Inc., Evergy Kansas Central, Inc and Evergy Kansas South, Inc reportevery town in the county on each poll, so 0 out is a real all-clear. ETRs are the utility's own estimates.

Active outages in Marion County1

Individual outages as listed by Evergy Kansas Central, Inc, largest first. “<N” means the utility only publishes that the outage affects fewer than N customers.

CustomersCauseCrew statusUtility ETRStartedUtility
<5UnidentifiedEnrouteOctober 19, 2026 20:15 UTCEvergy Kansas Central, Inc

Electricity-dependent residents

HHS emPOWER · data October 7, 2026

Medicare beneficiaries in Marion Countywho rely on electricity-dependent medical equipment (ventilators, oxygen concentrators, home dialysis, powered wheelchairs, and more). HHS reports counts of 1–10 as “≤11”. Medicare only, so the full at-risk population is larger.

Power-dependent
236
Oxygen service
117
Dialysis (facility)
55
Home health / hospice
88
By ZIP code (11)
ZIPPower-dependentVentilatorsO2 concentratorsHome dialysis
6686166≤1155≤11
6706338≤11320
6686625019≤11
6685115≤1114≤11
67483≤11≤11≤110
67475≤110≤110
67438≤110≤110
67073≤110≤110
67053≤110≤110
66859≤110≤110
66858≤110≤11≤11

Emergency managers can request identified beneficiary lists through their state health department via the HHS emPOWER program.

🔔 Alerts for Marion County, KS

Outage began, grew, restoration estimate changed, restored: by email, Slack, Teams, Discord or signed webhook, for Marion County or any town and utility in it.

◢ ACTIVE WEATHER ALERTS · NWS

No active NWS alerts for Marion County right now.

Recent NWS alert activity · Marion County

Marion County has been under 25 National Weather Service alerts recently, most recently a Frost Advisory on October 17, 2026.

  • Severe Thunderstorm Warning ×10
  • Flood Watch ×5
  • Severe Thunderstorm Watch ×3
  • Frost Advisory ×2
  • Flood Warning ×2
  • Flash Flood Warning ×2

Latest Marion County, KS outage updates

A running log of how this outage has changed, updated automatically as utilities report in.

  1. RESOLVED

    Power restored after 3h 10m

  2. IMPROVING

    Improving: down to 172 customers out

  3. OUTAGE BEGAN

    Outage began: 591 customers out (16% of the county)

  4. RESOLVED

    Power restored after 6h 26m

  5. IMPROVING

    Improving: down to 138 customers out

  6. OUTAGE BEGAN

    Outage began: 1,008 customers out (14% of the county)

  7. RESOLVED

    Power restored after 24m

  8. IMPROVING

    Improving: down to 632 customers out

Outage trend · Marion County, KS
0customers out
Data as of Oct 19, 2026 18:50 UTC
Marion County, KS: customers without power, last 24 hoursPeak 0 customers out; latest 0 as of Oct 19, 2026 18:50 UTC. Each point is the highest reading in its interval.00.30.50.816 PMOct 196 AM12 PM
Use the arrow keys to read values.
Times in EDT. Shaded stretches had no reading.

Hardest-hit cities in Marion County

Where this event is concentrated across the county's towns and townships.

No cities on file for this county

Historical reliability

In 2025, the average customer in Marion County went about 2.1 hours without power. Peak simultaneous outage on record reached 1,738 customers.

Official state benchmark (EIA 2025)Source: US EIA

The US EIA reports Kansas utilities averaged 3.2 hrs without power per customer (SAIDI) in 2025, a cross-check on our county estimate of 2.1 hrs.

A decade of outages (2015–2025)
avg hrs without power / customer
Marion County average outage hours per customer by year2015–2025: 2015 3.9h, 2016 2.5h, 2017 3.0h, 2018 1.3h, 2019 3.1h, 2020 1.0h, 2021 4.1h, 2022 2.2h, 2023 3.0h, 2024 3.4h, 2025 2.1h. Highlighted: 2021.02463.9h20152.5h20163.0h20171.3h20183.1h20191.0h20204.1h20212.2h20223.0h20233.4h20242.1h2025
Use the arrow keys to read values.

Worst year here was 2021 (peak 1,738 customers out) · decade average 2.7 hrs without power per customer/yr.

YearOutage eventsPeak customers outAvg hrs/customer
20151571,4773.9
20162298622.5
20172631,7143.0
20182131,4191.3
20195696153.1
20201933201.0
20212131,7384.1
20222471,6212.2
20232541,5253.0
20242201,2363.4
20252306412.1

Cost of power in Marion County

ENERGY & AI DEMAND →

Estimated residential electricity price for Marion County, customer-weighted across the utilities serving it (US EIA, 2025). Retail prices aren't published at the county level; this is a derived estimate.

14.2¢/kWh
estimated residential average
▲ 17% since 2015
vs Kansas avg 15.3¢
vs US avg 20.0¢
BY UTILITY · RESIDENTIAL ¢/kWh

Weighted by each utility's residential customer count (utilities report customers at the state level; a per-county share isn't published). Rising retail prices track a national demand surge; see energy & the data-center boom. What that adds up to each month, by state and utility: average electric bill.

Worst recorded outages
STARTEDPEAK OUTDURATION
December 15, 20211,7384d 4h
September 19, 20171,7146h 15m
October 13, 20221,6211h
March 29, 20221,61715m
April 24, 20221,61345m
See the biggest power outages in US history →
Natural hazards & outage risk
ELEVATED

Relatively High ice storms exposure · 2.7 hrs/yr of outages over the last decade.

Ice stormRelatively High
TornadoRelatively Moderate
Strong windRelatively Moderate
All hazard rankings →

Power outages in Marion County: FAQ

How often does Marion County, KS lose power?
Based on EAGLE-I records, Marion County, KS logged 230 distinct outage events in 2025, averaging about 2.1 hours without power per customer over the year.
What was the worst power outage in Marion County, KS?
The largest tracked outage peaked at 1,738 customers without power, beginning December 15, 2021 and lasting about 4d 4h.
Is there a power outage in Marion County, KS right now?
Yes, small ones. As of October 19, 2026 18:55 UTC, Flint Hills Rural E C A, Inc, DS&O Electric Cooperative, Inc., Evergy Kansas Central, Inc and Evergy Kansas South, Inc report only 1 small outage (below the size utilities publish exact counts for) in Marion County, KS. Butler Rural El Coop Assn, Inc - (KS) has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for City of Hillsboro - (KS) and City of Marion - (KS).
Which utilities serve Marion County, KS?
Tracked electric providers include Butler Rural El Coop Assn, Inc - (KS), Evergy Kansas Central, Inc, Evergy Metro, Flint Hills Rural E C A, Inc.
ZIP codes in Marion County

Outages are tracked at the county level; these ZIP codes fall within Marion County.

66851, 66858, 66859, 66861, 66866, 67053, 67063, 67073, 67438, 67475, 67483

Electric providers serving this county

From EIA-861 service territory, with official reliability where reported. Territory is filed by county, so these are the utilities with lines anywhere in Marion County, not the one at a given address. All electric companies in Kansas →

ProviderOfficial SAIDI (EIA)LiveReport outage
Evergy Metro2.6 hrsLive · county-
Evergy Kansas Central, Inc2.1 hrsLive · countyOutage map ↗
Evergy Kansas South, Inc4.1 hrsLive · county-
Flint Hills Rural E C A, Inc-Live · county-
DS&O Electric Cooperative, Inc.-Live · county-
Butler Rural El Coop Assn, Inc - (KS)-Outages only-
City of Hillsboro - (KS)-No live feed-
City of Marion - (KS)-No live feed-

Data from DOE/ORNL ODIN, DOE EAGLE-I, EIA Form 861 (utility reliability), EIA electricity retail prices and FEMA National Risk Index, every source we read. Historical figures derive from the DOE/ORNL EAGLE-I dataset (EAGLE-I tracked roughly 0% of Kansas customers). Machine-readable data: /api/v1/counties/20115 and /api/v1/counties/20115/history.