massoutage

Power Outages in Greenwood County, KS

Is there a power outage in Greenwood County, KS right now? None reported. As of October 19, 2026 17:55 UTC, no outages are reported by Evergy Kansas Central, Inc and Evergy Kansas South, Inc in Greenwood County, KS. Butler Rural El Coop Assn, Inc - (KS) has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear.

Greenwood County, KS is served by 4 tracked utilities. In 2025, the average customer here lost power for about 5.4 hours.

Cite this data
URL
https://massoutage.com/kansas/greenwood-county
As of
October 19, 2026 17:55 UTC
Publisher
MassOutage

MassOutage, "Power Outages in Greenwood County, KS", live data as of October 19, 2026 17:55 UTC. https://massoutage.com/kansas/greenwood-county

Alert me
Greenwood County, KS
Loading map…
This county Loading live outagesout
No outages reported

No active outages are reported by Evergy Kansas Central, Inc and Evergy Kansas South, Inc in Greenwood County.

Butler Rural El Coop Assn, Inc - (KS) only appearsin feeds while reporting outages, so no report isn't a confirmed all-clear.

Report an outage in Greenwood County, KS

Report it to your electric utility; MassOutage can't take reports. For a downed line, stay at least 35 feet away and call 911.

No outage contact on file for Evergy Metro, Evergy Kansas South, Inc and Butler Rural El Coop Assn, Inc - (KS); check your electric bill or the utility's website.

Not sure which utility serves you? →

Live status by utility · Greenwood County

0.0%of this county's ~5,196 customers are served by utilities with a county-level live feed.

Blind spots

Only visible while reporting outages: Butler Rural El Coop Assn, Inc - (KS). Zero here is not a confirmed all-clear.

UtilityFeedOutServed% outSmall outagesIncidentsUtility ETRAs of
Butler Rural El Coop Assn, Inc - (KS)Outages onlynone reported------
Evergy Kansas Central, IncLive · county0---0-
Evergy Kansas South, IncLive · county0---0-
Evergy MetroLive · countyno county report------

Evergy Kansas Central, Inc and Evergy Kansas South, Inc reportevery town in the county on each poll, so 0 out is a real all-clear. ETRs are the utility's own estimates.

Electricity-dependent residents

HHS emPOWER · data October 7, 2026

Medicare beneficiaries in Greenwood Countywho rely on electricity-dependent medical equipment (ventilators, oxygen concentrators, home dialysis, powered wheelchairs, and more). HHS reports counts of 1–10 as “≤11”. Medicare only, so the full at-risk population is larger.

Power-dependent
156
Oxygen service
64
Dialysis (facility)
55
Home health / hospice
66
By ZIP code (8)
ZIPPower-dependentVentilatorsO2 concentratorsHome dialysis
6704565≤11570
67047150≤11≤11
6686013≤11≤110
67137≤110≤11≤11
67122≤110≤110
66870≤110≤110
66863≤110≤110
66853≤110≤11≤11

Emergency managers can request identified beneficiary lists through their state health department via the HHS emPOWER program.

🔔 Alerts for Greenwood County, KS

Outage began, grew, restoration estimate changed, restored: by email, Slack, Teams, Discord or signed webhook, for Greenwood County or any town and utility in it.

◢ ACTIVE WEATHER ALERTS · NWS

No active NWS alerts for Greenwood County right now.

Recent NWS alert activity · Greenwood County

Greenwood County has been under 11 National Weather Service alerts recently, most recently a Frost Advisory on October 17, 2026.

  • Flood Watch ×7
  • Frost Advisory ×2
  • Severe Thunderstorm Watch ×2

Latest Greenwood County, KS outage updates

A running log of how this outage has changed, updated automatically as utilities report in.

  1. RESOLVED

    Power restored after 1h 15m

  2. OUTAGE BEGAN

    Outage began: 388 customers out (7.5% of the county)

Outage trend · Greenwood County, KS
0customers out
Data as of Oct 19, 2026 17:50 UTC
Greenwood County, KS: customers without power, last 24 hoursPeak 0 customers out; latest 0 as of Oct 19, 2026 17:50 UTC. Each point is the highest reading in its interval.00.30.50.816 PMOct 196 AM12 PM
Use the arrow keys to read values.
Times in EDT. Shaded stretches had no reading.

Hardest-hit cities in Greenwood County

Where this event is concentrated across the county's towns and townships.

No cities on file for this county

Historical reliability

In 2025, the average customer in Greenwood County went about 5.4 hours without power. Peak simultaneous outage on record reached 4,461 customers.

Official state benchmark (EIA 2025)Source: US EIA

The US EIA reports Kansas utilities averaged 3.2 hrs without power per customer (SAIDI) in 2025, a cross-check on our county estimate of 5.4 hrs.

A decade of outages (2015–2025)
avg hrs without power / customer
Greenwood County average outage hours per customer by year2015–2025: 2015 6.8h, 2016 11.9h, 2017 7.5h, 2018 22.0h, 2019 3.5h, 2020 3.7h, 2021 5.3h, 2022 9.3h, 2023 16.5h, 2024 4.1h, 2025 5.4h. Highlighted: 2018.01020306.8h201511.9h20167.5h201722.0h20183.5h20193.7h20205.3h20219.3h202216.5h20234.1h20245.4h2025
Use the arrow keys to read values.

Worst year here was 2018 (peak 4,461 customers out) · decade average 8.7 hrs without power per customer/yr.

YearOutage eventsPeak customers outAvg hrs/customer
20152761,4636.8
20164162,89911.9
20173812,8867.5
20184434,46122.0
20194946223.5
20204057713.7
20214243,8995.3
20223952,7969.3
20234304,17416.5
20244133,2524.1
20253711,4265.4

Cost of power in Greenwood County

ENERGY & AI DEMAND →

Estimated residential electricity price for Greenwood County, customer-weighted across the utilities serving it (US EIA, 2025). Retail prices aren't published at the county level; this is a derived estimate.

14.2¢/kWh
estimated residential average
▲ 17% since 2015
vs Kansas avg 15.3¢
vs US avg 20.0¢
BY UTILITY · RESIDENTIAL ¢/kWh

Weighted by each utility's residential customer count (utilities report customers at the state level; a per-county share isn't published). Rising retail prices track a national demand surge; see energy & the data-center boom. What that adds up to each month, by state and utility: average electric bill.

Worst recorded outages
STARTEDPEAK OUTDURATION
June 27, 20184,4612d 20h
March 31, 20234,1748h
July 14, 20233,9593d 3h
April 22, 20213,89930m
July 17, 20243,25215m
See the biggest power outages in US history →
Natural hazards & outage risk
HIGH

Relatively High ice storms exposure · 8.7 hrs/yr of outages over the last decade.

Ice stormRelatively High
WildfireRelatively Moderate
All hazard rankings →

Power outages in Greenwood County: FAQ

How often does Greenwood County, KS lose power?
Based on EAGLE-I records, Greenwood County, KS logged 371 distinct outage events in 2025, averaging about 5.4 hours without power per customer over the year.
What was the worst power outage in Greenwood County, KS?
The largest tracked outage peaked at 4,461 customers without power, beginning June 27, 2018 and lasting about 2d 20h.
Is there a power outage in Greenwood County, KS right now?
None reported. As of October 19, 2026 17:55 UTC, no outages are reported by Evergy Kansas Central, Inc and Evergy Kansas South, Inc in Greenwood County, KS. Butler Rural El Coop Assn, Inc - (KS) has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear.
Which utilities serve Greenwood County, KS?
Tracked electric providers include Butler Rural El Coop Assn, Inc - (KS), Evergy Kansas Central, Inc, Evergy Metro.
ZIP codes in Greenwood County

Outages are tracked at the county level; these ZIP codes fall within Greenwood County.

66777, 66853, 66860, 66863, 66870, 67045, 67047, 67122, 67137

Electric providers serving this county

From EIA-861 service territory, with official reliability where reported. Territory is filed by county, so these are the utilities with lines anywhere in Greenwood County, not the one at a given address. All electric companies in Kansas →

ProviderOfficial SAIDI (EIA)LiveReport outage
Evergy Metro2.6 hrsLive · county-
Evergy Kansas Central, Inc2.1 hrsLive · countyOutage map ↗
Evergy Kansas South, Inc4.1 hrsLive · county-
Butler Rural El Coop Assn, Inc - (KS)-Outages only-

Data from DOE/ORNL ODIN, DOE EAGLE-I, EIA Form 861 (utility reliability), EIA electricity retail prices and FEMA National Risk Index, every source we read. Historical figures derive from the DOE/ORNL EAGLE-I dataset (EAGLE-I tracked roughly 0% of Kansas customers). Machine-readable data: /api/v1/counties/20073 and /api/v1/counties/20073/history.