Power Outages in Montgomery County, IL
Is there a power outage in Montgomery County, IL right now? None reported. As of October 19, 2026 17:30 UTC, no outages are reported by Ameren Illinois Company and Southwestern Electric Coop Inc - (IL) in Montgomery County, IL. Shelby Electric Coop, Inc has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for Ameren, M J M Electric Cooperative Inc and Rural Electric Conven Coop.
Montgomery County, IL is served by 6 tracked utilities. In 2025, the average customer here lost power for about 4.3 hours.
Cite this data
- URL
- https://massoutage.com/illinois/montgomery-county
- As of
- October 19, 2026 17:30 UTC
- Publisher
- MassOutage
MassOutage, "Power Outages in Montgomery County, IL", live data as of October 19, 2026 17:30 UTC. https://massoutage.com/illinois/montgomery-county
No active outages are reported by Ameren Illinois Company and Southwestern Electric Coop Inc - (IL) in Montgomery County.
Shelby Electric Coop, Inc only appearsin feeds while reporting outages, so no report isn't a confirmed all-clear.
No live feed for Ameren, M J M Electric Cooperative Inc and Rural Electric Conven Coop: outages in theirservice area won't show here.
Report an outage in Montgomery County, IL
Report it to your electric utility; MassOutage can't take reports. For a downed line, stay at least 35 feet away and call 911.
No outage contact on file for Ameren Illinois Company, Southwestern Electric Coop Inc - (IL), Ameren, Shelby Electric Coop, Inc, M J M Electric Cooperative Inc and Rural Electric Conven Coop; check your electric bill or the utility's website.
57%of this county's ~21,587 customers are served by utilities with a county-level live feed.
We can't see outages for: Ameren, M J M Electric Cooperative Inc, Rural Electric Conven Coop. Their customers are not in any number on this page; check their own outage maps.
Only visible while reporting outages: Shelby Electric Coop, Inc. Zero here is not a confirmed all-clear.
| Utility | Feed | Out | Served | % out | Small outages | Incidents | Utility ETR | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ameren Illinois Company | Live · county | 0 | 12,169 | 0.0% | - | 0 | - | |
| Southwestern Electric Coop Inc - (IL) | Live · county | 0 | 30 | 0.0% | - | - | - | |
| Shelby Electric Coop, Inc | Outages only | none reported | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Ameren | No live feed | can't see | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| M J M Electric Cooperative Inc | No live feed | can't see | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Rural Electric Conven Coop | No live feed | can't see | - | - | - | - | - | - |
Ameren Illinois Company and Southwestern Electric Coop Inc - (IL) reportevery town in the county on each poll, so 0 out is a real all-clear. ETRs are the utility's own estimates.
Electricity-dependent residents
HHS emPOWER · data October 7, 2026Medicare beneficiaries in Montgomery Countywho rely on electricity-dependent medical equipment (ventilators, oxygen concentrators, home dialysis, powered wheelchairs, and more). HHS reports counts of 1–10 as “≤11”. Medicare only, so the full at-risk population is larger.
By ZIP code (16)
| ZIP | Power-dependent | Ventilators | O2 concentrators | Home dialysis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 62056 | 132 | ≤11 | 100 | ≤11 |
| 62049 | 77 | ≤11 | 56 | ≤11 |
| 62075 | 36 | 0 | 29 | 0 |
| 62560 | 25 | ≤11 | 15 | ≤11 |
| 62094 | 20 | 0 | 15 | ≤11 |
| 62051 | 15 | ≤11 | 13 | 0 |
| 62017 | 15 | 0 | 12 | 0 |
| 62572 | ≤11 | ≤11 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 62538 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 62533 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 62091 | ≤11 | ≤11 | ≤11 | ≤11 |
| 62089 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 62077 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 62076 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 62032 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
| 62015 | ≤11 | 0 | ≤11 | 0 |
Emergency managers can request identified beneficiary lists through their state health department via the HHS emPOWER program.
Outage began, grew, restoration estimate changed, restored: by email, Slack, Teams, Discord or signed webhook, for Montgomery County or any town and utility in it.
No active NWS alerts for Montgomery County right now.
Montgomery County has been under 8 National Weather Service alerts recently, most recently a Frost Advisory on October 18, 2026.
- Heat Advisory ×5
- Frost Advisory ×3
Latest Montgomery County, IL outage updates
A running log of how this outage has changed, updated automatically as utilities report in.
- RESOLVED
Power restored after 3h 15m
- RESTORATION ETA
Restoration now estimated September 21, 2026
- OUTAGE BEGAN
Outage began: 123 customers out (1.0% of the county)
- RESOLVED
Power restored after 1h 25m
- IMPROVING
Improving: down to 487 customers out
- GREW
Outage grew to 1,014 customers out (8.3% of the county)
- IMPROVING
Improving: down to 93 customers out
- OUTAGE BEGAN
Outage began: 363 customers out (3.0% of the county)
Hardest-hit cities in Montgomery County
Where this event is concentrated across the county's towns and townships.
Historical reliability
In 2025, the average customer in Montgomery County went about 4.3 hours without power. Peak simultaneous outage on record reached 5,667 customers.
The US EIA reports Illinois utilities averaged 2.4 hrs without power per customer (SAIDI) in 2025, a cross-check on our county estimate of 4.3 hrs.
Worst year here was 2022 (peak 3,207 customers out) · decade average 3.8 hrs without power per customer/yr.
| Year | Outage events | Peak customers out | Avg hrs/customer |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | 262 | 1,502 | 0.8 |
| 2016 | 363 | 2,218 | 3.6 |
| 2017 | 185 | 1,098 | 1.2 |
| 2018 | 485 | 842 | 2.4 |
| 2019 | 530 | 1,871 | 4.8 |
| 2020 | 459 | 5,667 | 3.1 |
| 2021 | 419 | 5,299 | 2.7 |
| 2022 | 437 | 3,207 | 11.2 |
| 2023 | 424 | 3,071 | 4.4 |
| 2024 | 475 | 1,719 | 3.1 |
| 2025 | 453 | 1,063 | 4.3 |
Cost of power in Montgomery County
ENERGY & AI DEMAND →Estimated residential electricity price for Montgomery County, customer-weighted across the utilities serving it (US EIA, 2025). Retail prices aren't published at the county level; this is a derived estimate.
- Ameren Illinois Company16.7¢587,659 cust
- Southwestern Electric Coop Inc - (IL)15.4¢24,414 cust
- Shelby Electric Coop, Inc21.5¢9,882 cust
Weighted by each utility's residential customer count (utilities report customers at the state level; a per-county share isn't published). Rising retail prices track a national demand surge; see energy & the data-center boom. What that adds up to each month, by state and utility: average electric bill.
Relatively High high winds exposure · 3.8 hrs/yr of outages over the last decade.
FEMA rates this county’s social vulnerability relatively moderate: outages hit harder where communities are less able to respond and recover.
All hazard rankings →Power outages in Montgomery County: FAQ
- How often does Montgomery County, IL lose power?
- Based on EAGLE-I records, Montgomery County, IL logged 453 distinct outage events in 2025, averaging about 4.3 hours without power per customer over the year.
- What was the worst power outage in Montgomery County, IL?
- The largest tracked outage peaked at 5,667 customers without power, beginning January 23, 2020 and lasting about 2h 45m.
- Is there a power outage in Montgomery County, IL right now?
- None reported. As of October 19, 2026 17:30 UTC, no outages are reported by Ameren Illinois Company and Southwestern Electric Coop Inc - (IL) in Montgomery County, IL. Shelby Electric Coop, Inc has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear. There is no live feed for Ameren, M J M Electric Cooperative Inc and Rural Electric Conven Coop.
- Which utilities serve Montgomery County, IL?
- Tracked electric providers include Ameren, Ameren Illinois Company, Shelby Electric Coop, Inc.
Outages are tracked at the county level; these ZIP codes fall within Montgomery County.
62015, 62017, 62032, 62049, 62051, 62056, 62075, 62076, 62077, 62089, 62091, 62094, 62533, 62538, 62560, 62572
Electric providers serving this county
From EIA-861 service territory, with official reliability where reported. Territory is filed by county, so these are the utilities with lines anywhere in Montgomery County, not the one at a given address. All electric companies in Illinois →
| Provider | Official SAIDI (EIA) | Live | Report outage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ameren Illinois Company | 4.8 hrs | Live · county | - |
| Southwestern Electric Coop Inc - (IL) | 4.0 hrs | Live · county | - |
| Ameren | - | No live feed | - |
| Shelby Electric Coop, Inc | - | Outages only | - |
| M J M Electric Cooperative Inc | - | No live feed | - |
| Rural Electric Conven Coop | - | No live feed | - |
Data from DOE/ORNL ODIN, DOE EAGLE-I, EIA Form 861 (utility reliability), EIA electricity retail prices and FEMA National Risk Index, every source we read. Historical figures derive from the DOE/ORNL EAGLE-I dataset (EAGLE-I tracked roughly 0% of Illinois customers). Machine-readable data: /api/v1/counties/17135 and /api/v1/counties/17135/history.