massoutage

Power Outages in Gilpin County, CO

Is there a power outage in Gilpin County, CO right now? None reported. As of October 19, 2026 18:55 UTC, no outages are reported by Public Service Co of Colorado in Gilpin County, CO. United Power, Inc has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear.

Gilpin County, CO is served by 2 tracked utilities. In 2025, the average customer here lost power for about 8.8 hours.

Cite this data
URL
https://massoutage.com/colorado/gilpin-county
As of
October 19, 2026 18:55 UTC
Publisher
MassOutage

MassOutage, "Power Outages in Gilpin County, CO", live data as of October 19, 2026 18:55 UTC. https://massoutage.com/colorado/gilpin-county

Alert me
Gilpin County, CO
Loading map…
This county Loading live outagesout
No outages reported

No active outages are reported by Public Service Co of Colorado in Gilpin County.

United Power, Inc only appearsin feeds while reporting outages, so no report isn't a confirmed all-clear.

Report an outage in Gilpin County, CO

Report it to your electric utility; MassOutage can't take reports. For a downed line, stay at least 35 feet away and call 911.

No outage contact on file for Public Service Co of Colorado and United Power, Inc; check your electric bill or the utility's website.

Not sure which utility serves you? →

Live status by utility · Gilpin County

0.0%of this county's ~2,943 customers are served by utilities with a county-level live feed.

Blind spots

Only visible while reporting outages: United Power, Inc. Zero here is not a confirmed all-clear.

UtilityFeedOutServed% outSmall outagesIncidentsUtility ETRAs of
Public Service Co of ColoradoLive · county0---0-
United Power, IncOutages onlynone reported------

Public Service Co of Colorado reportsevery town in the county on each poll, so 0 out is a real all-clear. ETRs are the utility's own estimates.

Electricity-dependent residents

HHS emPOWER · data October 7, 2026

Medicare beneficiaries in Gilpin Countywho rely on electricity-dependent medical equipment (ventilators, oxygen concentrators, home dialysis, powered wheelchairs, and more). HHS reports counts of 1–10 as “≤11”. Medicare only, so the full at-risk population is larger.

Power-dependent
173
Oxygen service
54
Dialysis (facility)
22
Home health / hospice
33
By ZIP code (3)
ZIPPower-dependentVentilatorsO2 concentratorsHome dialysis
8042212201180
8042729025≤11
80474≤110≤110

Emergency managers can request identified beneficiary lists through their state health department via the HHS emPOWER program.

🔔 Alerts for Gilpin County, CO

Outage began, grew, restoration estimate changed, restored: by email, Slack, Teams, Discord or signed webhook, for Gilpin County or any town and utility in it.

◢ ACTIVE WEATHER ALERTS · NWS

No active NWS alerts for Gilpin County right now.

Recent NWS alert activity · Gilpin County

Gilpin County has been under 5 National Weather Service alerts recently, most recently a Winter Weather Advisory on October 15, 2026.

  • Winter Weather Advisory ×3
  • Flood Watch ×1
  • Special Weather Statement ×1

Latest Gilpin County, CO outage updates

A running log of how this outage has changed, updated automatically as utilities report in.

  1. RESOLVED

    Power restored after 5m

  2. OUTAGE BEGAN

    Outage began: 142 customers out (5.4% of the county)

Outage trend · Gilpin County, CO
0customers out · peak 1
Data as of Oct 19, 2026 18:50 UTC
Gilpin County, CO: customers without power, last 24 hoursPeak 1 customers out; latest 0 as of Oct 19, 2026 18:50 UTC. Each point is the highest reading in its interval.00.30.50.816 PMOct 196 AM12 PM
Use the arrow keys to read values.
Times in EDT. Shaded stretches had no reading.

Hardest-hit cities in Gilpin County

Where this event is concentrated across the county's towns and townships.

No cities on file for this county

Historical reliability

In 2025, the average customer in Gilpin County went about 8.8 hours without power. Peak simultaneous outage on record reached 2,626 customers.

Official state benchmark (EIA 2025)Source: US EIA

The US EIA reports Colorado utilities averaged 4.6 hrs without power per customer (SAIDI) in 2025, a cross-check on our county estimate of 8.8 hrs.

A decade of outages (2015–2025)
avg hrs without power / customer
Gilpin County average outage hours per customer by year2015–2025: 2015 0.8h, 2016 1.0h, 2017 2.9h, 2018 3.0h, 2019 9.5h, 2020 10.7h, 2021 4.0h, 2022 3.3h, 2023 2.5h, 2024 4.6h, 2025 8.8h. Highlighted: 2020.0510150.8h20151.0h20162.9h20173.0h20189.5h201910.7h20204.0h20213.3h20222.5h20234.6h20248.8h2025
Use the arrow keys to read values.

Worst year here was 2020 (peak 832 customers out) · decade average 4.6 hrs without power per customer/yr.

YearOutage eventsPeak customers outAvg hrs/customer
2015257450.8
2016268651.0
2017328712.9
2018898203.0
20191088659.5
202011983210.7
2021348984.0
2022537863.3
2023561,7482.5
2024478754.6
20251882,6268.8

Cost of power in Gilpin County

ENERGY & AI DEMAND →

Estimated residential electricity price for Gilpin County, customer-weighted across the utilities serving it (US EIA, 2025). Retail prices aren't published at the county level; this is a derived estimate.

15.9¢/kWh
estimated residential average
▲ 37% since 2015
vs Colorado avg 17.0¢
vs US avg 20.0¢
BY UTILITY · RESIDENTIAL ¢/kWh

Weighted by each utility's residential customer count (utilities report customers at the state level; a per-county share isn't published). Rising retail prices track a national demand surge; see energy & the data-center boom. What that adds up to each month, by state and utility: average electric bill.

What causes outages here

Share of outage-time by reported cause, from live ODIN utility reports. Why does my power keep going out? →

Outage causes by share of outage-timePlanned / maintenance 87.7%, Animal / wildlife 12.3%Planned / maintenancePlanned / maintenance87.7%Animal / wildlifeAnimal / wildlife12.3%
Use the arrow keys to read values.
A reported cause is available for 19.4% of outage-time over 2 months of live data. Shares are of the portion with a known cause; bars are scaled to the largest cause.
Worst recorded outages
STARTEDPEAK OUTDURATION
September 29, 20252,6261h 15m
July 26, 20231,7482h 30m
December 9, 20251,3391d 17h
March 12, 202595311h 30m
February 4, 20218986h 15m
See the biggest power outages in US history →
Natural hazards & outage risk
MODERATE

Relatively Low wildfire exposure · 4.6 hrs/yr of outages over the last decade.

HurricaneNot Applicable
TornadoVery Low
Ice stormVery Low
Strong windVery Low
WildfireRelatively Low
All hazard rankings →

Power outages in Gilpin County: FAQ

How often does Gilpin County, CO lose power?
Based on EAGLE-I records, Gilpin County, CO logged 188 distinct outage events in 2025, averaging about 8.8 hours without power per customer over the year.
What was the worst power outage in Gilpin County, CO?
The largest tracked outage peaked at 2,626 customers without power, beginning September 29, 2025 and lasting about 1h 15m.
Is there a power outage in Gilpin County, CO right now?
None reported. As of October 19, 2026 18:55 UTC, no outages are reported by Public Service Co of Colorado in Gilpin County, CO. United Power, Inc has not reported outages here, but it only publishes active outages, so that isn't a confirmed all-clear.
Which utilities serve Gilpin County, CO?
Tracked electric providers include Public Service Co of Colorado, United Power, Inc.
ZIP codes in Gilpin County

Outages are tracked at the county level; these ZIP codes fall within Gilpin County.

80422, 80427, 80474

Electric providers serving this county

From EIA-861 service territory, with official reliability where reported. Territory is filed by county, so these are the utilities with lines anywhere in Gilpin County, not the one at a given address. All electric companies in Colorado →

ProviderOfficial SAIDI (EIA)LiveReport outage
Public Service Co of Colorado6.0 hrsLive · county-
United Power, Inc5.1 hrsOutages only-

Data from DOE/ORNL ODIN, DOE EAGLE-I, EIA Form 861 (utility reliability), EIA electricity retail prices and FEMA National Risk Index, every source we read. Historical figures derive from the DOE/ORNL EAGLE-I dataset (EAGLE-I tracked roughly 0% of Colorado customers). Machine-readable data: /api/v1/counties/08047 and /api/v1/counties/08047/history.